Rich website linking to primary sources for all periods of European history. Organized first by country, and then loosely chronologically. Includes transcriptions, facsimiles, and, sometimes, translations. Maintained at Brigham Young University.
Digital archive containing firsthand accounts from sources around the world, covering such events as post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States, and more.
"The Inventing Europe website is a pioneering collaboration between historians and cultural heritage institutions throughout Europe. Together, these national collections shape a transnational collective memory of Europe’s cultural heritage. The goal of the website is to cross borders and explore the history, culture and formation of Europe through the lens of technological objects and images."
Streaming classical music, World, Folk and Chinese music, and includes notes on musical works and biographical information on composers or artists. NOTE: To use the Naxos mobile app, you'll need to create a personal account following the directions found here, under the student/faculty of subscribing university or an educational institution.
Access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages. Supported by a non-profit organization.
Digital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, and more, encompassing many time periods and world cultures. Note: First time, off-campus users accessing via OpenAthens will be required to create a personal account
A growing digital archive of newsreels created by the British Pathé company from the 1890s through the 1970s. These videos include areas such as historical events and documentaries as well as travelogues and contemporary coverage of culture.
This multifaceted tool places art works from the Metropolitan Museum's collection within geographical and chronological context. It has excellent thematic essays (background information) that cover the historical eras and cultures that produced the works of art (the primary sources), along with maps and key events from each place and time period.
Platino Educa is a Spanish Language film streaming platform with over 300 films from Spain and Latin America covering a broad range of themes, including art, history, environmental science, literature, and social justice. Films have Spanish and English subtitles.
This website links to historic newspaper digitization projects from around the world. Projects are listed by country or by state. Most newspapers are freely available, but the fee-based projects are noted as such.