Reference
Use reference sources to define or narrow a research topic, place it in context, or clarify a point of confusion. Reference books often provide lists of books and articles for further reading in sections titled Suggested Reading, Further Reading, Sources, or Bibliography.
- Blackwell Reference Online Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text reference books in the humanities and social sciences. Includes Companion to Greek and Roman Historiography, Companion to Greek and Roman Political Thought, and A Companion to the Hellenistic World.
- Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: AntiquityThis multi-volume print encyclopedia covers the 2nd millennium BC to the formation of modern Europe (AD 600 to 800). Very scholarly, with good bibliographies.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowReference resource covering fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
- Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization"The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds."
- Digital Encyclopedia of the Hellenic WorldJointly funded by the EU and Greece, this scholarly online reference work seeks to offer a view of Hellenic culture through all time periods and geographical locations. Currently, it includes encyclopedias covering Asia Minor, the Black Sea, and Constantinople.
- Encyclopedia of the Middle AgesOnline access to articles on all aspects of the Middle Ages from the fifth to the fifteenth century.
- Measuring WorthTools to aid in comparing the worth of wages, goods, etc.. Coverage for England and the UK begins with 1270. Excellent essays and examples.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowSubject specific research guides with annotated bibliographic lists of recommended books and articles.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new windowSingle-source reference for the study of the Greco-Roman world containing extended articles, interactive maps, audio, and images on topics ranging from ancient economy, Jewish studies, to Roman law and Greek mythology.
- Oxford Dictionary of ByzantiumThe best English-language encyclopedia on the Byzantine Empire. A survey of the Byzantine world, with entries often covering unexpected topics (e.g., blood, crown, beverages). Short bibliographies.
- World History EncyclopediaAn online encyclopedia with articles reviewed by an editorial team. Formerly known as the Ancient History Encyclopedia.