Humanities Librarian
Looking for full text?
- JournalsUse the Journals tool to look for our access to journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Request articles, books, and other materials not in the JMU Libraries.
Course Texts
Out of Darkness, Shining Light by Ebook. "'Petina Gappah's powerful novel of exploration and adventure in nineteenth-century Africa-the captivating story of the loyal men and women who carried explorer and missionary Dr. Livingstone's body, his papers and maps, fifteen hundred miles across the continent of Africa, so his remains could be returned home to England and his work preserved there."
Global Africa by Ebook. "A striking, original volume that disrupts the dominant narratives that continue to frame our discussion of Africa, complicating conventional views of the region as a place of violence, despair, and victimhood. The volume documents the significant global connections, circulations, and contributions that African people, ideas, and goods have made throughout the world."
His Only Wife by Ebook. "A witty, smart, and moving debut novel about a brave young woman traversing the minefield of modern life with its taboos and injustices, living in a world of men who want their wives to be beautiful, to be good cooks and mothers, to be women who respect their husbands and grant them forbearance. And in Afi, Peace Medie has created a delightfully spunky and relatable heroine who just may break all the rules."
Bibliographies
- Africa Bibliography (Cambridge)"Includes a wide range of material: monographs, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, and pamphlets... Categorises by region, country and subject."
- Oxford Bibliographies: African Studies"Broad introductions to such subjects as African society, politics, or literature with specific studies of individual peoples, states, or literary traditions to enable the user to appreciate Africans’ distinctiveness as well as their diversity."
- Oxford Bibliographies: AnthropologyBibliographies on topics related to Anthropology.
Databases
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowBibliography information for articles, reports, commentaries, and obituaries from journals and selected edited works in the field of anthropology and archaeology.
- AfricaBib This link opens in a new windowBibliographic information for Africana social science resources including Africana periodical literature, African Women's literature, and Education in Africa.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, literature, etc.
*Temporary expanded access beyond JMU subscriptions is available until Jun 30, 2022. Use this link for a list of resources: https://about.jstor.org/covid19/expanded-access-to-collections/. - JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowCatalog of over 62 million titles cataloged by libraries worldwide that includes manuscripts written as early as the 1000 B.C., books, audio visual media, and internet source
News
- AllAfrica"A voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing 900 news and information items daily from over 150 African news organizations and our own reporters to an African and global public."
- BBC News: AfricaNews from Africa by the BBC.
- Africa Is a Country"A site of opinion, analysis, and new writing on and from the African left."
Films
- Docuseek Complete Collection This link opens in a new windowDocumentary films in a variety of subjects, including education, healthcare, science and technology, and critical thinking.
Browse Subjects for related topics, such as African Studies and specific countries. - Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming video resource containing thousands of educational videos in all major subject areas; includes access to archival films and newsreels.
Browse Subjects for related topics, such as African Studies and Sub-Saharan Africa. - Kanopy This link opens in a new windowContains over 25,000 videos, documentaries, training films, theatrical releases, and more.
Note: The login/sign up buttons at the top right of the Kanopy interface are for creating and logging in to personal accounts. It is not necessary to log in to view films if you're on campus. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to log in as a JMU user when you select a film.
Browse Subjects for related topics, such as Indigenous People of Africa through Anthropology and African Studies through Global Studies & Languages.
Digital Collections
- Library of Congress: Africana Section"Unusually rich and extensive research materials on sub-Saharan Africa... The focal point of the Library's reference and bibliographic activities on sub-Saharan Africa, which excludes the North African countries of Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, and Tunisia."
- Struggles for Freedom: Southern AfricaFrom JSTOR Primary Sources. "This collection focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe."
- World Heritage Sites: AfricaFrom JSTOR Primary Sources. "Links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites."
Literature
- African Books Collective This link opens in a new windowABC is an African-owned, worldwide marketing and distribution outlet for books from Africa--scholarly, literature and children's books. Access includes pre-2020 backlist (1,490 ebooks), 2020 frontlist (76 ebooks), and 2021 frontlist (84 ebooks). The majority of titles are DRM-free.
- African Writers Series This link opens in a new windowKey texts of modern African literature, including hundreds of volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose.
- Imagination, Technology, the Future, and Liberation: Afrofuturism and Related GenresSelected titles from a book display at JMU Libraries by Kristen Shuyler and Liana Bayne.
Music
- Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new windowAn encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions, in streaming audio.
- Music Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new windowMusic collection covering the genres of reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, Bollywood, and other traditional music, such as Indian classical, flamenco, zydeco, gospel, and more.
- Qwest TV This link opens in a new windowVideo streaming service dedicated to Jazz, Soul, Funk & World Music
Citing Sources
Use the Author-Date style of Chicago.