Need Help?
Frequently Used Resources
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to more than 1,800 journals in 40 languages on world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the US and Canada. - Bibliography of British & Irish History This link opens in a new windowBibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of over 62 million titles cataloged by libraries worldwide that includes manuscripts written as early as the 1000 B.C., books, audio visual media, and internet source
Background Information for the History of Britain and Ireland
- Oxford Companion to British HistoryConcise coverage of the history of Britain; no bibliographies.
- Reader's Guide to British HistoryCovers all time periods and all constituent parts of the British Isles. Arranged alphabetically by topic, a guide to the best secondary literature on British history, broadly defined. Each topical entry lists secondary works; the entry then discusses each of these important works in relation to one another and in historiographical context.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online This link opens in a new windowBiographies of 55,000 deceased men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past from the earliest times and all walks of life.
- World History EncyclopediaAn online encyclopedia with articles reviewed by an editorial team. Formerly known as the Ancient History Encyclopedia.