Research Guides: Graduate Psychology Programs: Assessment &amp; Measurement

Handbook of Formative Assessment in the Disciplines

The Handbook of Formative Assessment in the Disciplines meaningfully addresses current developments in the field, offering a unique and timely focus on domain dependency. Building from an updated definition of formative assessment, the book covers the integration of measurement principles into practice; the operationalization of formative assessment within specific domains, beyond generic strategies; evolving research directions including student involvement and self-regulation; and new approaches to the challenges of incorporating formative assessment training into pre-service and in-service educator training. As supporters of large-scale testing programs increasingly consider the potential of formative assessments to improve teaching and learning, this handbook advances the subject through novel frameworks, intersections of theory, research, and practice, and attention to discernible disciplines. Written for instructors, graduate students, researchers, and policymakers, each chapter provides expert perspectives on the procedures and evaluations that enable teachers to adapt teaching and learning in-process toward student achievement.

Co-Intelligence: Living and working with AI

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From Wharton professor and author of the popular One Useful Thing Substack newsletter Ethan Mollick comes the definitive playbook for working, learning, and living in the new age of AI Something new entered our world in November 2022 -- the first general purpose AI that could pass for a human and do the kinds of creative, innovative work that only humans could do previously. Wharton professor Ethan Mollick immediately understood what ChatGPT meant: after millions of years on our own, humans had developed a kind of co-intelligence that could augment, or even replace, human thinking. Through his writing, speaking, and teaching, Mollick has become one of the most prominent and provocative explainers of AI, focusing on the practical aspects of how these new tools for thought can transform our world. In Co-Intelligence, Mollick urges us to engage with AI as co-worker, co-teacher, and coach. He assesses its profound impact on business and education, using dozens of real-time examples of AI in action. Co-Intelligence shows what it means to think and work together with smart machines, and why it's imperative that we master that skill. Mollick challenges us to utilize AI's enormous power without losing our identity, to learn from it without being misled, and to harness its gifts to create a better human future. Wide ranging, hugely thought-provoking, optimistic, and lucid, Co-Intelligence reveals the promise and power of this new era.

Handbook of Structural Equation Modeling

The definitive one-stop resource on structural equation modeling (SEM) from leading methodologists is now in a significantly revised second edition. Twenty-three new chapters cover model selection, bifactor models, item parceling, multitrait-multimethod models, exploratory SEM, mixture models, SEM with small samples, and more. The book moves from fundamental SEM topics (causality, visualization, assumptions, estimation, model fit, and managing missing data); to major model types focused on unobserved causes of covariance between observed variables; to more complex, specialized applications. Each chapter provides conceptually oriented descriptions, fully explicated analyses, and engaging examples that reveal modeling possibilities for use with the reader's data. The expanded companion website presents full data sets, code, and output for many of the chapters, as well as bonus selected chapters from the prior edition. New to This Edition *Chapters on additional topics not mentioned above: SEM-based meta-analysis, dynamic SEM, machine-learning approaches, and more. *Chapters include computer code associated with example analyses (in Mplus and/or the R package lavaan), along with written descriptions of results. *60% new material reflects a decade's worth of developments in the mechanics and application of SEM. *Many new contributors and fully rewritten chapters.

Trends in Assessment

Trends in Assessmentprovidesreaders with a survey of the state-of-the-art of the enduring assessmentconcepts and approaches developed over the past twenty-five years, and includeschapters by acknowledged experts who describe how emerging assessment trendsand ideas apply to their programs and pedagogies, covering: Community Engagement ePortfolios Faculty Development Global Learning Graduate and Professional Education High-Impact Practices Learning Improvement and Innovation Assessment Trends from NILOA STEM Student Affairs Programs and Services The concluding chapters point to a future of assessment andidentify several meta-trends in assessment. The book was conceived by organizers and contributors of theAssessment Institute in Indianapolis, the nation's oldest and largest highereducation assessment event, and includes contributions by the followingpartners of the Institute: Association for the Assessment of Learning in HigherEducation (AALHE); Association for Authentic, Experiential, and Evidence-BasedLearning (AAEEBL); Association for General and Liberal Studies (AGLS); Association for Institutional Research (AIR); Association ofAmerican Colleges and Universities (AAC&U); Center for PostsecondaryResearch (CPR)/National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE); and HigherEducation Data Sharing Consortium (HEDS). Trends in Assessmentserves as a vital resource forfaculty, student affairs professionals, administrators, anyone involved inaccreditation, and scholars in the field.

Handbook on Measurement, Assessment, and Evaluation in Higher Education

Increased demands for colleges and universities to engage in outcomes assessment for accountability purposes have accelerated the need to bridge the gap between higher education practice and advances in the fields of measurement, assessment, and evaluation. This research handbook provides higher education administrators, student affairs personnel, institutional researchers, and faculty with an integrated volume of theory, method, and application. Bringing together terminology, analytical perspectives, and methodological advances, this second edition facilitates informed decision-making while connecting the latest thinking in these methodological areas with actual practice in higher education. In this valuable resource, well-known scholars present a detailed understanding of contemporary theories and practices, with guidance on how to apply these ideas for the benefit of students and institutions.

CAS Professional Standards for Higher Education

The CAS Professional Standards for Higher Education (9th edition) book contains 44 sets of functional area standards and guidelines. This text provides an introduction to the Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education (CAS), its mission, initiatives, and the principles upon which it was founded. In addition, all of the standards have been updated to reflect the new CAS general standards. The individual functional area standards are accompanied by introductory contextual statements. The CAS Learning and Development Outcomes, the CAS Characteristics of Individual Excellence, and the CAS Statement of Shared Ethical Principles are also included. There are several noteworthy changes to the new edition, including updates and revisions to 12 sets of professional standards, and the standards for Master's Level Student Affairs Preparation Programs

Accreditation on the Edge

Accreditation is essential to colleges and universities. Without it, they are unable to participate in federal student aid programs or confer legitimate degrees. In Accreditation on the Edge, Susan D. Phillips and Kevin Kinser bring together the expertise of different stakeholders to illustrate the complexities of the accreditation system and to map the critical issues that must be navigated going forward. Accreditation can be seen both as an invaluable resource and as a barrier to needed reform. Presenting an array of different perspectives--from accreditors and institutions to policymakers and consumers--the book offers nuanced views on accreditation's importance to higher education and on the potential impact of proposed reforms. The contributors reveal that accreditation is currently on the edge of a policy precipice, as the needs of higher education and the interests of the many stakeholders may well outstrip its ability to perform. But, they argue, accreditation is also on the cutting edge of the transformation of higher education in the twenty-first century. Intended for policymakers, accreditors, institutional leaders, and scholars in higher education, Accreditation on the Edge offers a comprehensive analysis of the critical issues that accreditation reform needs to address if it is to serve the future of a fast-changing higher education environment. Contributors: Armand Alacbay, David A. Bergeron, Alana Dunagan, Judith S. Eaton, Peter T. Ewell, Madeleine F. Green, Thomas L. Harnisch, Michael B. Horn, Kevin Kinser, Edwin W. Koc, Paul J. LeBlanc, Sylvia Manning, Leah K. Matthews, Barmak Nassirian, Anne Neal, Audrey Peek, Susan D. Phillips, Mark Schneider, Jamienne S. Studley, Joseph Vibert

Conducting an Institutional Diversity Audit in Higher Education

Implementing systematic diversity transformation requires embracing all aspects of diversity--gender, sexual orientation, disability, gender identification, and other salient characteristics of difference--as well as race and ethnicity. This book lays out a framework for a systematic and sustained diversity process that first recognizes that too many diversity initiatives have generated more statements of intent than actual change, and that audits conducted by outside bodies frequently fail to achieve buy-in or long-term impact, and are costly endeavors. The authors' framework identifies nine dimensions that need to be addressed to achieve a comprehensive audit that leads to action, describes the underlying research-based practices, and offers guidance on ensuring that all relevant voices are heard. The process is designed to be implemented by and within the institution, saving the considerable expense of outside consulting and design. In addition, it offers flexibility in the timing and sequence of implementation, and provides the means for each institution to interrogate its unique circumstances, context, and practices. This book provides a concrete process for data gathering, analysis, and evaluation of institution-wide diversity efforts through a progressive, modular approach to diversity transformation. It gives campuses the ability to audit, evaluate, and analyze diversity progress on the nine dimensions and prioritize areas of focus. Its systematic, research-based approach supports continuous improvement and proactively addresses accreditation criteria. The book is designed as a collaborative tool that will enable every constituency on campus--from boards of trustees, presidents, provosts, executive officers, diversity officers, deans, department heads and chairs, administrators, HR officers, faculty senates and staff councils, diversity taskforces, multicultural centers, faculty, and researchers--to identify processes and relationships that need to change and implement practices that value and support the diversity on their campuses, and undertake the transformation necessary for institutional success in a changing world. The questions and guidelines set out in this book will enable all stakeholders to: * Audit the progress on each diversity dimension * Identify gaps between research-based practices and current approaches * Tie diversity benchmarks to accreditation frameworks and strategic plans * Chart the organization's overall progress in the development of comprehensive diversity initiatives leading toward Inclusive Excellence * Prioritize institutional diversity initiatives based upon a comparison of the current state and the desired state, availability of resources, and the importance of each dimension in relation to institutional diversity goals * Create a long-term strategy for diversity transformation that provides a concrete, research-based method for auditing progress and future planning

Handbook of Formative Assessment in the Disciplines

The Handbook of Formative Assessment in the Disciplines meaningfully addresses current developments in the field, offering a unique and timely focus on domain dependency. Building from an updated definition of formative assessment, the book covers the integration of measurement principles into practice; the operationalization of formative assessment within specific domains, beyond generic strategies; evolving research directions including student involvement and self-regulation; and new approaches to the challenges of incorporating formative assessment training into pre-service and in-service educator training. As supporters of large-scale testing programs increasingly consider the potential of formative assessments to improve teaching and learning, this handbook advances the subject through novel frameworks, intersections of theory, research, and practice, and attention to discernible disciplines. Written for instructors, graduate students, researchers, and policymakers, each chapter provides expert perspectives on the procedures and evaluations that enable teachers to adapt teaching and learning in-process toward student achievement.

Co-Intelligence: Living and working with AI

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From Wharton professor and author of the popular One Useful Thing Substack newsletter Ethan Mollick comes the definitive playbook for working, learning, and living in the new age of AI Something new entered our world in November 2022 -- the first general purpose AI that could pass for a human and do the kinds of creative, innovative work that only humans could do previously. Wharton professor Ethan Mollick immediately understood what ChatGPT meant: after millions of years on our own, humans had developed a kind of co-intelligence that could augment, or even replace, human thinking. Through his writing, speaking, and teaching, Mollick has become one of the most prominent and provocative explainers of AI, focusing on the practical aspects of how these new tools for thought can transform our world. In Co-Intelligence, Mollick urges us to engage with AI as co-worker, co-teacher, and coach. He assesses its profound impact on business and education, using dozens of real-time examples of AI in action. Co-Intelligence shows what it means to think and work together with smart machines, and why it's imperative that we master that skill. Mollick challenges us to utilize AI's enormous power without losing our identity, to learn from it without being misled, and to harness its gifts to create a better human future. Wide ranging, hugely thought-provoking, optimistic, and lucid, Co-Intelligence reveals the promise and power of this new era.