Liaison Librarian
Reference Sources
- Bibliography of British & Irish History This link opens in a new windowBibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.
- Blackwell Reference Online Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text reference books in the humanities and social sciences.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowReference resource covering fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete (Gale)Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete (DLBC) contains essays outlining the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres, and summarizes the critical response to their work. This resouce includes three series: Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series, Dictionary of Literary Biography Main Series, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window10 individual titles that represent a range of modern and historical views on authors, poets, dramatists.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online - Renaissance and Reformation This link opens in a new windowA bibliography that provides background information and reading lists for key topics, figures, events, and ideas during the 14th through 17th centuries.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online This link opens in a new windowBiographies of 55,000 deceased men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past from the earliest times and all walks of life.
Primary Sources
- 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull text searchable newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) that form a comprehensive collection of early English news media.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowPrimary source database offering women's diaries and letters.
- English Poetry, 600-1900 This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text English and British poems from the Anglo-Saxon period to the end of 19th century. - English Verse Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of works by named and anonymous authors from the Shrewsbury Fragments of the late 13th century, through the Elizabethan and Jacobean period, to British poets of the 19th century. - State Papers Online This link opens in a new windowCorrespondence, reports, parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants, etc. from British governments spanning 1509-1714.
Indexes
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical documents, personal papers, and family histories collected from archives across the globe.
- Catalogue of English Literary Manuscripts, 1450-1700A freely-accessible record of surviving manuscript sources for over 200 major British authors of the period 1450–1700.
- English Short Title Catalog (ESTC)Indexes over 480,000 that were published between 1473 and 1800 primarily in Britain and North America. Works are predominantly in English and are from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries.
- e-raraSearch for rare books from the 15th to 20th century digitized from Swiss libraries.
Websites
- British History OnlineBritish History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.
- Catalogue of English Literary Manuscripts, 1450-1700A freely-accessible record of surviving manuscript sources for over 200 major British authors of the period 1450–1700.
- Early Modern Literary StudiesA refereed, open-access journal that publishes articles on 16th & 17th century English literature, literary criticism, & languages.
- Shakespeare's First Folio OnlineA digitized copy of William Shakespeare's first folio.
- The Shakespeare Quartos ArchiveA collection of of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays.