Health Sciences and Kinesiology Librarian
Journals in Physical and Health Education
- StrategiesA Journal for Physical and Sport Educators, is a peer-reviewed journal offered by SHAPE America. Its articles address the everyday needs of physical and sport educators in the gymnasium or on the athletic field, and its readers make up a highly focused audience of teachers, coaches, and administrators in search of ideas that can be put to use immediately.
- JOPERDJournal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance (JOPERD), is SHAPE America's largest, most frequently published, and most wide-ranging periodical. It is SHAPE America's cornerstone journal, providing information on a variety of health, physical education, recreation and dance issues.
- Exceptional ChildrenExceptional Children is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering the field of special education.
- PalaestraPALAESTRA is a quarterly publication designed to be a single responsible source of valuable information for those interested in sport, physical education, and recreation involving individuals with disabilities.
- Young ChildrenAn award-winning, peer-reviewed journal that combines research and practice, Young Children supports educational excellence and focuses on meeting the needs of all children, birth through third grade.
- Journal of Teaching in Physical EducationThe Journal of Teaching in Physical Education (JTPE) features peer-reviewed research articles based on classroom and laboratory studies, descriptive and survey studies, summary and review articles, and discussion of current topics of interest to physical educators at every level.
- QuestQuest is an independent organization delivering support and services to educators and researchers in all around the world.
- European Physical Education ReviewIt includes theoretical and research-based articles and occasionally devotes Special Issues to major topics and themes within the field.
- Sport Education and SocietySport, Education and Society publishes on pedagogy and policy in relation to cultural, political and ethical issues in physical activity, sport and health.
- Physical Education and Sport PedagogyPhysical Education & Sport Pedagogy publishes research into educational practices including school physical activities, club sport, and active leisure programs
- Curriculum Studies in Health and Physical EducationCurriculum Studies in Health and Physical Education publishes in all areas of health and physical education, such as outdoor education, recreation and sport
- Adapted Physical Activity QuarterlyAdapted Physical Activity Quarterly (APAQ) is the major journal of peer-reviewed research in adapted physical activity.
- Multicultural Learning and TeachingMulticultural Learning and Teaching is a multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed international journal devoted to the education of people with diverse multicultural life experiences and backgrounds
- International Journal of Inclusive EducationPublishes multi-disciplinary research on inclusive education, pedagogies, curricula, organizational structures, policy-making, administration and cultures.
- The Physical EducatorThe Physical Educator is one of the longest standing journals providing research-based articles relating to physical education, health, recreation, and related areas.
Journals in Sport Coaching
International journal of sports science & coaching (Online):
"The International Journal of Sports Science & Coaching is a peer-reviewed, international, academic/professional journal, which aims to bridge the gap between coaching and sports science.
International sport coaching journal:
"The International Sport Coaching Journal (ISCJ) is a venture of the International Council for Coaching Excellence (ICCE) and is published by Human Kinetics. Its mission is to advance the profession of coaching.
Journal of sports sciences (Online):
"The Journal of Sports Sciences has an international reputation for publishing articles of a high standard and is both Medline and Clarivate Analytics-listed. The emphasis of the Journal is on the human sciences, broadly defined and applied to sport and exercise."
Physical education and sport pedagogy (Online):
"Physical Education and Sport Pedagogy. Physical Education & Sport Pedagogy publishes research into educational practices including school physical activities, club sport, and active leisure programs."
Sports coaching review:
"Sports Coaching Review is the leading-edge critical publication for the international community of sports coaching scholars, students and practitioners."
Journal of strength and conditioning research (Online):
"The Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research is a monthly peer-reviewed medical journal which publishes research on aerobic conditioning, including physical strength".
Journals in DEI and Social Justice Education
Journal of Inclusive Education
Publishes multi-disciplinary research on inclusive education, pedagogies, curricula, organizational structures, policy-making, administration and cultures.
Invested in the preparation and continued support of teachers who can have a significant voice in discussions and decision-making. Issues covered include preparing teachers to effectively address the needs of marginalized youth; program design and impact; local and national policy; and accountability.
Publishes papers on curriculum studies, covering pedagogy, political, social and cultural studies, education policy, vocational education and more.
Provides a forum for the presentation of original investigations, reviews, and essays which examine the issues basic to the improvement of urban schooling and education.
Publishes on pedagogy and policy in relation to cultural, political and ethical issues in physical activity, sport and health.
A socialist, feminist, and anti-racist journal dedicated to the theory and practice of teaching. It serves the community of educators who are working for democratic process, peace, and justice. The magazine examines the root causes of inequality and promotes progressive social change.
Education, Citizenship, and Social Justice
Provides a strategic forum for international and multi-disciplinary dialogue for all academic educators and educational policy-makers concerned with the meanings and form of citizenship and social justice as these are realized throughout the time spent in educational institutions...
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index with abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, anthropology, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology). - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. - Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journals on educational research in early childhood to higher education, educational specialties, multilingual education, health education and testing. - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals concerning emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental health, and experimental methods, etc. - SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex with some full text pertaining to sports, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, etc.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of scholarly publications in sociology, including journals, magazines, books, working papers, dissertations, conference proceedings, and an extensive thesaurus
What is Peer Review?
Peer review is one way to evaluate the quality of an article. Use these slides to learn:
- why peer review is important
- how to identify peer reviewed articles