Have a Question? Ask Me!
Top Concepts of Biochemistry Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA medical and health database developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access and searching for life science journals.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
Google Scholar
You can use the Google Scholar search engine in your research. To most effectively use this resource, make sure to:
- Connect your Google Scholar to JMU Libraries Holdings. A guide on linking your account is available here.
- Install LibKey to your browser for a seamless search experience. Directions are found to the left, on the "LibKey" tab.
Amazing Biochemist Project
For the Amazing Biochemist project, you will need to consult a wide variety of resources. Books and scholarly articles are good materials, but for this assignment, you might also find that blogs, websites, and other resources are equally helpful. Consult your assignment's requirements for guidelines.
It is okay to start your research by using Wikipedia, or another reference sources. While you should not cite Wikipedia in your work, it is a great place to begin!
For example, you might use Wikipedia to learn about biochemists active in the 20th century, gather a few names of interest, and then read their Wikipedia pages. If you are using LibKey, you will be able to directly access resources cited in Wikipedia through JMU Libraries. You can then move to the Library Search to search for books, or use the Libraries databases to locate scholarly articles.
After first exploring Library Search, consider using the biographical databases listed below:
- American National Biography This link opens in a new windowA biographical resource for notable people in American history.
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new windowBiographical information on over 480,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new windowBibliographic entries for journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science, technology, and medicine.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online This link opens in a new windowBiographies of 55,000 deceased men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past from the earliest times and all walks of life.
Other Helpful Databases
- BRENDA (Braunschweig Enzyme Database)Collection of enzyme functional data searchable by EC Number, Enzyme Name or Organism. Contains a wide variety of property information, including bibliographic references.
- American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new windowIndex to journals published by the American Chemical Society.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals (RSC)Index of journals published by RSC.