Scholarly Articles
Some of these databases contain only scholarly journals, but others include books, government reports, and popular newspaper and magazine articles. It is up to you to choose resources that are appropriate for your assignment.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, literature, etc.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for nursing and allied health journals; also includes evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
- Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources, supporting materials, archives, and video content designed to enrich study in a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex with some full text pertaining to sports, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, etc.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowScholarly and popular sources concerning current social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, and the environment.
News Articles
These publications contain news and opinion articles written for the general public. They are not considered scholarly.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull text collection of international and local news sources.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull text for ethnic, minority, and international newspapers and magazines.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains current news, laws and legislation, business and company information, country and state profiles, and more.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowFull access to The New York Times and International New York Times content online.
First time users will need to create a one year renewable account using these instructions. - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowFull access to the Wall Street Journal online.
First time users will need to create a personal account using these instructions. - Washington Post This link opens in a new windowFull access to The Washington Post online.
To create an individual account use these instructions.