JMU Library Catalog Search
Search for print and electronic books, government documents, and more in our collection using the JMU Library Catalog.
Computer Science eBooks
Computer Science eBooks can also be found by searching the JMU Library Catalog.
eBook Collections
-
Computer Science E-book Collection This link opens in a new windowComputer Science eBooks from the publisher Springer. Includes programming, theory, artificial intelligence, and other subjects.
-
Professional Computing & Web Design E-book Collection This link opens in a new windowProfessional computing and web design eBooks from the publisher Springer.
-
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new windowMore than 38,000 eBooks and over 30,000 hours of video covering data, design, hardware, software, security, career development, and more.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
-
Dictionary of Algorithms and Data StructuresDictionary of algorithms, algorithmic techniques, data structures, archetypal problems, and related definitions, from the US National Institute of Standards and Technology.
-
A Dictionary of Computer Science (7th Ed)
ISBN: 9780199688975Publication Date: 2016Over 6,500 entries with expanded coverage of multimedia, computer applications, networking, and personal computer science. Terms are defined in a concise manner with examples. -
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology
ISBN: 9781351652490Publication Date: 2017The encyclopedia is structured according to the ACM Computing Classification System (CCS), and covers topics including hardware, networks, software, information systems, security and privacy, human-centered computing, and mathematics of computing. -
Encyclopedia of Gender and Information Technology
ISBN: 9781591408161Publication Date: 2006Includes 213 entries by hundreds of leading international experts have compiled their research about the role of gender in human interaction with IT and the IT profession. Special attention is paid to the contributions, challenges, issues, and experiences of women in the IT field. -
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology, Fourth Edition
ISBN: 9781522522560Publication Date: 2017Includes 705 original and authoritative research articles contributed by thousands of experts and researchers from around the globe covering a full range of perspectives, applications, and techniques. With critical perspectives on the impact of information management and new technologies in modern settings.
Finding Books at JMU
-
Locating Books in JMU LibrariesThis handout explains call numbers and where science books are located in JMU Libraries.
-
JMU Library MapsWhere to find books and other materials in JMU Libraries.
-
JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind books, eBooks, journals, movies, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
Other Places to Find Books
-
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
-
Internet Archive Open LibraryScanned books and book records from libraries around the world. Electronic books are limited to one user at a time.
-
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video.
-
WorldCat This link opens in a new windowSearch the catalogs of libraries worldwide, including books, videos, and other media. JMU can often borrow materials from other librarians through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).