Being a Psychology Major
Writing in Psychology
The second edition of Writing in Psychology by Scott A. Miller is a comprehensive guide to addressing the most challenging issues that students face while writing about psychology, including what to say and how to say it. It offers practical tools to overcome the challenges and create an engaging work. The book is a valuable resource for helping readers become better writers of psychology with the aid of various helpful learning tools, which provide detailed coverage of how to write empirical reviews, research proposals, literature reviews, term papers, and posters. It examines examples from journal articles that give readers a grasp of the content they will encounter in writing psychological reports. Furthermore, it includes exercises that provide an opportunity to apply the points conveyed in each chapter, examples of ways to avoid the most common mistakes made by students, and a guide to the best practices for improving one's writing. Readers will also develop a thorough understanding of how to write in an engaging yet accurate style, using grammatical and word use rules that govern writing in general, and the rules of seventh edition APA (American Psychological Association) Publication Manual that determine the expression of that content. Throughout, the book emphasizes inclusion, diversity, and fair treatment of those with whom psychologists deal, in research and writing. The book will benefit anyone looking for guidance on how to write about psychological content. It is ideal for research scholars and psychology students as a primary text for writing in psychology courses and a supplement for graduate or advanced undergraduate courses in research design or research methods.
The Insider's Guide to the Psychology Major
Psychology is one of the most popular undergraduate majors. To gain an edge and get ahead, current and prospective psychology majors need access to insider knowledge. This book provides an overview of the psychology major, subdisciplines within the field, graduate programs and the admissions process, career opportunities for all degree types, internships, and free resources for students. To make the process more interactive and proactive, students will benefit from the handy assessments, timelines, exercises, tips on enhancing employability, testimonials from students and professionals, and recommended resources, including web sites, journals, and conferences. Like a good mentor, this book expertly motivates and empowers students to be proactive in exploring their educational and career options. Whether the ultimate goal is to enter the workforce or graduate school, following this insider guidance will save undergraduates time and increase their chances of success.
Psychology 101 1/2
In graduate school, psychology students learn the formal, explicit knowledge of the field, but often not the tacit knowledge upon which academic careers are built -- how to organise oneself and one's resources to succeed in a challenging, competitive field. In this second edition of his popular Psychology 101#65533;, eminent psychologist Robert J. Sternberg updates and extends a trove of wisdom gleaned from decades of experience in various academic settings and leadership positions. In his signature straightforward, intellectually honest, and pragmatic style, he imparts life lessons for building a successful and gratifying career. This revision features lessons in five basic categories: identity and integrity, interpersonal relationships, institutions and academia, problems and tasks, and job and career. Recent developments in the field are covered, and new questions at the end of each lesson prompt readers to explore their understanding of the lesson and to apply it to their own circumstances. Valuable to academic psychologists at any level, this book will be especially prized by graduate students, post-doctorates, and early-career professors.
Psychology As a Major
Anyone considering psychology as an undergraduate major needs to read this book. Author Donna Schultheiss provides a comprehensive strategy aimed at helping undergraduates use self-exploration tools to decide if psychology is the right major for them. She offers a detailed, reader-friendly explanation of psychology and its subfields and an examination of the importance of diversity and multiculturalism in present-day practice.Throughout, Schultheiss draws heavily on the vocational psychology literature, giving readers intellectual and practical exposure to the tools of the field. Experiential and self-assessment exercises help readers focus their thinking, and strategies for decision making and stress management aid them in coming to terms with this important life decision. After finishing this book, readers will have a comprehensive picture of the opportunities psychology offers as a field of study and a career, and will also come to a greater understanding of themselves and their personal motivations.
The Student's Guide to Studying Psychology
Studying a degree course in psychology, even if you've taken the subject before university, requires a whole range of new skills and knowledge. And the 4thedition of this best-selling guide is an invaluable companion. It can not only help you to get a good final degree, but will also support you in making informed choices towards either a career or further study. Updated to include the latest developments in the field, the new edition provides practical and helpful guidance on everything a psychology student encounters throughout their degree, including: Writing essays and research reports, including how to get your referencing right. Guidelines for researching ethically using humans or animals An overview of research methods and statistics, including qualitative methods Tips on how to approach and pass your exams Advice on becoming a graduate, including preparing your CV and making the most of your degree Featuring advice to help you every step of the way, the book also includes a library of weblinks to provide further resources to support your studies. This is an essential book for any psychology student wishing to make the most of their degree course.
Majoring in Psychology
Updated to reflect the latest data in the field, the second edition of Majoring in Psychology: Achieving Your Educational and Career Goals remains the most comprehensive and accessible text for psychology majors available today. The new edition incorporates the most up-to-date research, as well as recent changes to the GRE Reveals the benefits of pursuing a psychology degree and shows students how to prepare for a career or to continue with graduate study in the field Features a wide range of supplemental exercises and materials plus topical contributions written by national and international figures in their respective psychology subfields Online support materials for instructors include Powerpoint slides and test banks to support each chapter
Career Paths
Careers in Psychology
Careers in Psychology, Fifth Edition helps students navigate and plan for their futures by offering exposure to the rich careers in each subfield of psychology and prompting students to consider the what, why and how of each option. In doing so, the text supports students as they determine whether a major and career in psychology is for them. Offering salary and career information, advice on getting a job after graduation, and information on applying to graduate school in psychology Tara L. Kuther and Robert D. Morgan support students in making an educated decision about their futures and career options.
Career Paths in Psychology
Career Paths in Psychology is a must-have resource for students contemplating a career in psychology, for psychologists considering switching between areas of psychology, and for professionals thinking of switching to psychology from another field. In this comprehensive anthology, authors selected for their distinction in their chosen careers offer their professional - and personal - perspectives on 19 different graduate-level careers in psychology. Few fields of study offer more career opportunities than does psychology, and readers will find thoughtful discussions, leavened with tips and insights gained from personal experience, on the full range, including (to name only a few) academia, clinical psychology, health and school psychology, clinical neuropsychology, and government service. Each chapter discusses the nature of the career, its advantages and disadvantages, how to prepare for it, typical activities, ranges of financial compensation, opportunities for employment, and the personal attributes needed for success in the career. ""Day in the life"" discussions give readers a glimpse into the prosaic realities, challenges, and rewards of each career that the lab or lecture hall rarely provides. Reprinted eight times since the publication of the first edition in 1997, ""Career Paths in Psychology"" is recognized as the ""go-to"" sourcebook for anyone seeking a candid portrait of different careers in this ever-changing field. The second edition has been expanded (discussions of five new careers added) and updated to reflect current trends and changes in the field.
Diverse Careers in Community Psychology
Community psychology is a diverse field. Community psychologists may work for the government, for nonprofit foundations, as researchers or teachers in academic settings, at NGOs, as independent consultants, overseas in international development, and more. Despite such professional diversity,very little information has formally been made available to students and practitioners about the range of careers they can pursue when studying community psychology.Diverse Careers in Community Psychology details a range of potential career paths for someone with community psychology or related social science training, describes the different types of careers (e.g., tasks involved, benefits and challenges, salary range, etc.), and outlines steps one can take todevelop such a career. The volume is built on three foundations: (1) a career survey of almost 450 respondents, which provides quantitative information about the different types of settings in which individuals with community psychology training might find themselves; (2) more than twenty chaptersby contributors who share their personal stories and guidance on how to select, prepare for, find, and succeed in careers similar to theirs; (3) and interviews with community psychologists, further illustrating examples discussed in the authored chapters. This volume provides both a depth andbreadth of information about the possible careers available for someone with community psychology or related training.
Majoring in Psych? Career options for psychology undergraduates
An accessible guide for all Psychology undergraduates. Focusing on the multiple ways that students can enhance their marketability while still in school, Majoring in Psych?: Career Options for Psychology Undergraduates, 5/e answers the career-planning questions most psychology majors find themselves asking.This student-friendly guide looks at psychology as both a discipline and a liberal arts degree from a career perspective. The authors have compiled information to help students demystify the process of career development. Using a question-and-answer format, this valuable resource shows students how they can take an early and active role in shaping their professional paths. The humorous, down-to-earth tone makes this book accessible to all students.
What to Do with Your Psychology Degree
Whether you are planning to pursue a career within the psychology profession or wondering how best to apply the skills you have gained during your psychology studies to another vocation, this practical book will help you to explore the many avenues open to you. Based on a survey of over 400 UK psychology graduates, What to do with your Psychology Degree provides real life information on some of the many occupations and careers open to psychology graduates, ranging from jobs in health, therapy and education to private sector roles in marketing, public relations or the media. By encouraging readers to think laterally about their transferable skills, the authors outline 60 career profiles that are directly and indirectly related to the discipline of psychology. For each occupation the book outlines: The main tasks and challenges involved Personality attributes that are suited to the job Skills needed Further training and qualifications that may be required Voluntary work placement, part-time, and casual job opportunities Links to websites with further information including current vacancies For any psychology graduate, this book is the most practical resource available on career choices; whether you are embarking on your first job or looking for a change of career, this book is essential reading.
The Portable Mentor
The ten year anniversary of the book offers an excellent opportunity to publish a second edition. Several aspects of the book have evolved considerably since its first printing. For instance, substantial revision to the internship, licensure, and certification processes has occurred, and are reflected in this resource. Much of the literature on clinical psychology, cultural sensitivity, and the current job market is updated. Changes in technology have large effects on teaching and practicing clinical psychology. These modifications are needed to offer appropriate and updated information for students. In short, virtually every chapter has substantial modification to ensure that the material is accurate and up to date.