MathSciNet from the American Mathematical Society is the leading mathematics indexing and abstracting database. It provides abstracts from more than 3100 mathematical journals and many thousands of books, conference proceedings, theses, and technical reports indexes. MathSciNet goes beyond simple bibliographic information, it also incorporates the content of the American Mathematical Society's Mathematical Reviews. These article reviews are written by experts in the article's mathematical content and exist for a significant percentage of the papers in the database, including many from as far back as 1940s.
Searching MathSciNet is very similar to using advanced searches in library catalogs or databases. It provides users the ability to search publications, authors, journals, or citations. What sets MathSciNet's search apart from many other databases, is its unique identification of authors and articles, and its use of the MSC (mathematical subject classification) system.
Upon visiting MathSciNet you will be presented with an advanced search which filtering options of publication type and time. The advanced search also for many fields such as the familiar, such as Author, Title, Journal, and Institution. It will also for searching less familiar fields like MSC Primary which lets you use MSC category values to search for articles by subject; MR Number which lets you search for already known items using unique id of articles in the database; and Reviewer which finds all articles reviewed by a person. MR Number can be particular useful because it allows you to note an article's ID for easy access to the article at a future date.
MathSciNet has also made major progress in solving a major problem in database searching: telling author's with the same name apart from one another. MathSciNet accomplishes this by assigning unique identification numbers to each author. You can search for a specific author by clicking the Author tab on the MathSciNet home page and then use their name (last name then first name) or their ID number (if known). Clicking on an author's name elsewhere in the database will also bring you to their MathSciNet profile. If you are the author of a mathematics paper indexed in MathSciNet, you will also have an author profile which you can log into and add a photo too or otherwise edit.
The Journals tab provides the ability to search for publications by name or ISSN. The results link to a journal profiles with information about the publisher, previous journal names, dates of publication, and how it is indexed in MathSciNet. You will also find links to issues and articles, citation data, and RSS feeds you can subscribe to which will alert you when MathSciNet adds new articles from the journal.
The Citations tab provides searches of citation information for authors, journals, subjects, and years. There are also top 10 lists of the most cited journals by year.
MathSciNet also offers a set of unique tools you can use to explore the connections between the authors in the database.
The first tool, available through MathSciNet's free tools and is called collaboration distance. Enterthe name of any two mathematicians and the database will find the shortest distance, measure by co-authored papers, between them. Since most people will use this to determine Erdős numbers they even kindly put in an Erdős button.
You can also explore connections through an author's MathSciNet profile page.
All you have to do is click on co-authors. Then you can sort the list of all of the mathematician's co-authors by name, publication count, citation count, or earliest publication.
In many cases the profile page also provides a link to an author's mathematical genealogy from the Mathematical Genealogy Project. From there you can explore student advisor connections of over 200,000 mathematicians, with information often going back centuries.