Have a Question? Ask Me!
Mathematical Reference
- MathWorld
Comprehensive searchable reference resource covering a wide range of mathematical knowledge.
- Online Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences
Collections of known integer sequences with references to their occurrences in mathematical literature.
- Number Gossip
Website featuring information on interesting properties of integers.
- MacTutor History of Mathematics
Archive of biographies of mathematicians from the University of St. Andrews.
- Mathematics Genealogy Project
Database of the academic genealogy of mathematicians throughout history.
- NIST Library of Mathematical Functions
Digital collections of types of functions with formulas, graphs, and tables.
Top Mathematical Resources
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowA searchable database providing an index of abstracts from more than 3100 mathematical journals and many thousands of books, conference proceedings, theses, and technical reports indexes, many of which have been reviewed by subject experts. Information on how to use this resource is available in the MathSciNet section of this guide.
- The ArXivOpen access database of e-prints in physics, mathematics, statistics, computer science and quantitative biology. Information on how to use this resource is available in the arXiv section of this guide.
- zbMathEuropean counterpart of MathSciNet with very similar coverage. zbMath's coverage of current mathematics is a bit slower than MathSciNet, but their historical coverage is significantly larger due to their integration the Jahrbuch database and zbMath also offers the ability to search via formula which MathSciNet does not offer. zbMath became Open Access starting in January 2021 and is fully available to all.
- Project EuclidA collection of open-access mathematics monographs and journals, as well as some subscription journals (We do not have access through Project Euclid to all journals, please use library search if you are unable to access a specific article).
Digital Mathematics & Statistics Journals and Books
- Mathematics Journal ListList of journals available electronically through JMU Libraries.
- Springer MathematicsProvides online full-text access to many of the Springer Mathematics journals, e-books, and monograph series.
- SIAM Journals OnlineProvides full-text access to scholarly journals in mathematics and computer science published by SIAM since 1997.
- ProQuest Mathematics E-BooksE-books in ProQuest's mathematics collection.
- ScienceDirect MathematicsContains access to over 1,000 mathematics journals and e-books from Elsevier and its subsidiaries.
- O'Reilley Mathematics E-BooksThe O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform mathematics collection.
Interdisciplinary Databases and Collections
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, literature, etc.
Where do I Find Books?
The mathematics books and journals are stored in Rose Library.
Math books usually start with the call number QA and are on the 3rd floor of Rose.
These are the broad categories within the QA section:
1-43 General
47-59 Tables
71-90 Instruments and machines, including computer science & software
101-145 Elementary mathematics and arithmetic
150-272.5 Algebra
273-280 Probabilities and mathematical statistics
299.6-433 Analysis
440-699 Geometry, trigonometry, and topology
801-939 Analytic mechanics
