Selected Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of criminology by Call Number: Ref HV6017.E5295 2005ISBN: 1579583873Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of crime & justice by Call Number: Ref HV6017 .E52 2002ISBN: 002865319XPublication Date: 2002Online version also available via the JMU Catalog
Encyclopedia of Democratic Thought by Call Number: Ref JC423 E54 2001ISBN: 0415193966Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of violence, peace, & conflict by Call Number: Ref HM291 .E625 2008ISBN: 9780123695031Publication Date: 2008Online version also available via the JMU Catalog
Background Sources
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowSecondary and primary sources concerning current social issues, such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, the environment, and terrorism, containing everything from biographies to court cases and magazine articles.
- CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new windowReference works and historical documents on issues in U.S. politics, health care, education, economics, bioethics, environment and society.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searchable online reference book collection covering all subjects from the arts to zoology. - Blackwell Reference Online Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text reference books in the humanities and social sciences.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowFull-text encyclopedias back to 2002 on subjects ranging from African American Studies to Sociology.
Library Search box
This search box searches Library Search.
