Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Connect the Libraries to Canvas

Journals

Send your students directly to journals of interest. Visit our Journals page to find the full list of journals JMU Libraries' subscribes to. 

Copy the web address for your journal of interest and paste it in the External Links window.

 

e-Books

Using "Advanced Search," change the "Material Type" dropdown menu to "Books," then type keywords into the search field.  Under "Modify Results," expand the "Availability" dropdown and select "Available online."

 

undefined

Articles

Some databases will provide persistent links to individual articles that can be shared with your students.

 

undefined

Databases

All Research Databases:

Get direct links to databases, or link to all Research Databases, through the Databases page. 

Individual Databases:

Link directly to a specific database by clicking the copy link Copy Link icon (right of the Database title), and then copy and paste the link within your course content. 

Example: IBISWorld

 

undefined

Library Catalog Records

It is also possible to link to individual records for JMU collections, such as Print books, DVDs, or Theses & Dissertations, using the persistent links found within each of the JMU Library Catalog records (as shown below).

 

undefined

Share Search Results

Once you have a good list of search results in Library Search, you can share the results by clicking on the  QR code / Copy link icon in the upper right corner of the screen.  

Digital Object Identifiers (DOI)

Link directly to an article using its DOI. If you know the DOI, go to CrossRef and enter the DOI in the search box. Find the URL and copy it to your site (see below).

Factiva articles links (Special case)

Use the tool below to create links to articles in Factiva which can be posted in Canvas or shared with other JMU users. Factiva's structure does not allow you to copy a link directly from the database.

Create a link to an article

1. In Factiva, find your article and copy the "Document" number located at the bottom of the article.


Created using code adapted from the University of Missouri Library.