In conjunction with Deep Web Technologies, University Libraries is developing a search engine that simultaneously queries more than a dozen sources of educational materials–content that is open access and immediately available for use in your courses. We’re still adding search targets but today our OER Metafinder searches fifteen sites and returns the top 250 or so hits from each site.
A collection of freely available textbooks in accounting, business, economics, education, foreign languages, humanities, information systems, law, marketing, natural and physical sciences, statistics, and more.
OpenStax's high-quality educational tools give students access to the learning materials they need to succeed, at little to no cost. Because OpenStax doesn’t believe anything should come between students and their future.
Supported by Rice University, the Laura and John Arnold Foundation, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, the Calvin K. Kazanjian Economics Foundation, the Maxfield Foundation, the Bill and Stephanie Sick Fund, and the Michelson 20 MM Foundation.
Open SUNY Textbooks offer services to support wide faculty adoption of OER that can be effectively sustained, improved and shared, as well as delivered to students to give them the day-one access to course materials they need for academic success.
Noba is a free online platform that provides high-quality, flexibly structured Psychology textbooks and educational materials. These textbooks and materials are licensed under the Creative Commons CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 International License.
EdTech Books only includes content on this site that is gratis (free as in no cost), but not all content may provide freedoms to users for remixing, etc. (free as in freedom). Each book included in this site is released under its own license, and some include chapters or other content that may be released under yet another license.
The ebooks, which reflect JSTOR’s high standards for quality content, are freely available for anyone in the world to use. Each ebook carries one of six Creative Commons licenses determined by the publisher.
Michigan Publishing publishes scholarly and educational materials in a range of formats for wide dissemination and permanent preservation and advocates for the broadest possible access to scholarship everywhere.
Aggregating the world’s open access research papers. We offer seamless access to millions of open access research papers, enrich the collected data for text-mining and provide unique services to the research community.
This book is an introduction to intellectual property law, the set of private legal rights that allows individuals and corporations to control intangible creations and marks—from logos to novels to drug formulae—and the exceptions and limitations that define those rights.
- Copyright Law (any term / any semester)
- Trademark Law (any term / any semester)
- Foundations of Intellectual Property Law (any term / any semester)
- Contracts (any term / any semester)
Candela courses provide an extremely low cost e-book alternative to expensive commercial textbooks in high enrollment college courses. More than just an open textbook, Candela offers “value-added” OER.
The Open Learning Initiative (OLI) is a grant-funded group at Carnegie Mellon University, offering innovative online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach. Our aim is to create high-quality courses and contribute original research to improve learning and transform higher education.
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts and managed by the Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges
Librarians develop our curated collections to bring you the best of our digital library offerings. Efforts were made to identify educational resources in subject areas offered at Virginia’s institutions of higher education.
Welcome to Humanities Commons, the network for people working in the humanities. Discover the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials, make interdisciplinary connections, and increase the impact of your work by sharing it in the repository.
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, and many undergo the more extensive "peer review" for which MERLOT is famous.
The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.
The Open Case Studies project at UBC brings together faculty and students from different disciplines to write, edit, and learn with case studies that are free and open--they are publicly available free of cost, and they are licensed to allow others to revise and reuse them.
Originally created as a wiki for virtual library for public domain music scores, the site now also includes works of various copyright designations, yet it is still a fantastic source for public domain scores.
Open Modernisms is a Creative-Commons-licensed (CC-BY), social-knowledge resource that allows scholars of modernism to build custom anthologies or coursepacks of out-of-copyright primary materials. Support for this site will cease November 1, 2019, but coursepacks will remain accessible as long as this version of Islandora is supported.
Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come.
Smarthistory is the most visited art history resource in the world. We are the official provider of art history for khanacademy.org, and we support AP art history and A-level curriculum. Smarthistory supports students, instructors, and lifelong learners everywhere.
Voices of Virginia pulls together stories from oral history collections from across decades and archives to create an all-audio source companion for Virginia’s high school and college students. You’ll also find a brief introduction to each narrator, historical context adapted from experts at Encyclopedia Virginia, American Yawp, and Public Domain sources, and helpful classroom tools like discussion questions, activities, and lesson plans that fit into both the Virginia high school and college U.S. History curriculum.
From the Department of History at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, this collaborative, team-oriented, student-centered and community-based project seeks to create a popular movement to democratize and open American history by utilizing digital technologies to share the experiences and artifacts of everyday people and local historical institutions.
A free and open online library containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development created for the US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program.
EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. We publish selected EUscreen content under a Creative Commons license on the Open Images portal.
Rick Prelinger and The Internet Archive hereby offer public domain films from Prelinger Archives to all for free downloading and reuse. You are warmly encouraged to download, use and reproduce these
films in whole or in part, in any medium or market throughout the world. You are also warmly encouraged to share, exchange, redistribute, transfer and copy these films, and especially encouraged to do so for free.