OrgComm "Theory" Resources
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Article index with some full text in the fields of communication and mass media studies.
OrgComm "Practice" Resources
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text for periodicals and news sources covering all aspects of business, including business, country economic reports, company profiles, market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses.
Applied Organizational Communication by
The fourth edition of Applied Organizational Communication provides a current, in-depth analysis of the theories and practices critical to understanding organizational communication concepts in a global environment. This new edition has been thoroughly updated and revised to reflect the most current organizational communication theory and research, and includes new information on the use of technology, incorporated throughout. Additional features of this text include: Extensive real-life examples that establish links between organizational communication and perceptions, theory, networks, and symbolic behaviour. Theory-based consulting approaches that enhance abilities to link issues with actions. Grounding in transactional communication and advanced systems approaches. Macro and micro analyses of key topics and issues. As an accessible and practical examination of organizational communication, this text is intended for use in organizational communication, leadership, organizational development, and organizational intervention courses at the advanced undergraduate and graduate level.
Call Number: HD30.3 .H372 2019ISBN: 9781138497184Publication Date: 2018-11-18
Courageous Organizational Communication Case Studies by
Alexander Lyon presents 31 case studies in organizational communication that explore issues of courageous communication. Through case studies on many well-known organizations such as Google, the Miami Dolphins, NASA, Comcast, the Boy Scouts of America, Netflix, Taco Bell, Massachusetts General Hospital, Merck Pharmaceuticals, and others, the book articulates a communication-based model of courage around four themes: Courageous communication is collaborative, upward, transparent, and engaging. The book presents both effective and cautionary portraits of organizations as they responded to complex issues. It situates the case studies in existing literature and provides practical guidance for enacting courageous communication in professional settings.
Call Number: HD30.3 .L96 2017ISBN: 9781433131240
Information from Other Disciplines
Since organizations happen in all sorts of contexts, you can and should look in other journal collections for sources. This is not an exhaustive list, but some examples of where you might look.
- AgeLine This link opens in a new windowMaterials related to gerontology and aging from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text for periodicals and news sources covering all aspects of business, including business, country economic reports, company profiles, market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses. - ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to educational periodicals and unpublished documents available since 1966.
Suggested Publications
- AdAge This link opens in a new windowOnline access to the trade magazine AdAge and its DataCenter. Includes profiles of top advertisers, media, and agencies as well as job data, advertising spending, award winners, and agency family trees.
- American Journal of Agricultural EconomicsAvailable via Business Source Complete
- Communication WorldAvailable via Communication & Mass Media Complete
- HR MagazineAvailable via Business Source Complete
- Restaurant BusinessAvailable via Business Source Complete
Interviewing Resources
- Borrow equipment from Innovation ServicesFind equipment for creating a podcast, digital story, or something more complex
Suggested Keywords
| entrepreneurship | marketing |
| policy | procedures |
| messaging | social media |
| promotion(al) | HR |
| start-up | product launch |
| training | nonprofit |
| events | guidelines |
| handbook | technology etiquette |