Humanities Librarian
Welcome!
Welcome to JMU Libraries' comic books and graphic novels research guide. The guide will orient you to the library holdings and available resources pertaining to JMU's comic books and graphic novels.
Graphic Novels and Comic Books in Our Collections
- Graphic Novels and Comic Books at JMUBrowse for graphic novels and comic books in our library catalog.
- Bradley and Brian Flota Comic Book CollectionThis is the finding aid for the Bradley and Brian Flota Comic Book Collection, housed in Special Collections, which contains over 9,000 single issue comic books. Read the finding aid for more details about the collection.
Scholarly Articles
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Online Resources
- Comic Book Legal Defense FundComic Book Legal Defense Fund is a non-profit organization dedicated to protecting the First Amendment rights of the comics medium.
- Comic Book PlusThis site features downloadable comics that are in the public domain mainly from the "Golden Age" of comics.
- The Comics GridA peer-reviewed online journal focusing on comic book scholarship.
- Digital Comic MuseumConsists of public domain comics primarily from the "Golden Age" of comics.
- Disabled Cartoonists DatabaseA database of comics creators who identify as disabled.
- Grand Comics DatabaseThe Grand Comics Database (GCD) is a nonprofit, internet-based organization of international volunteers dedicated to building a database covering all printed comics throughout the world.
- Queer CartoonistsA database of comics creators who identify as queer.
- Queer Comics DatabaseFacilitates access to comics that contain queer representation.
- Webcomics Web ArchiveThis collection focuses on comics created specifically for the web and supplements the Library of Congress’ extensive holdings in both comic books, graphic novels, and original comic art.
- Women Write About ComicsA diverse group of intersectional, international feminists who provide equally diverse insight into the world of comic book culture and the comic book industry at large.