How to find Journals and Articles
Research is communicated mainly through journal articles. These articles should be peer-reviewed and recently published.
Once you've found a few articles of interest, a great way to find even more relevant sources is by looking for related citations. Databases like Scopus and PubMed provide tools on the results page to help you do this.
Accessing Articles
Look for this button to find a link to full-text online, if available.
Look for this button to request an electronic copy of an article. Delivery is usually within 1 to 2 days if the journal is available at JMU, but may take longer if it must be ordered from another library.
Article Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for nursing and allied health journals; also includes evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA medical and health database developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access and searching for life science journals.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An index with abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, anthropology, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology). - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts, and full text for scholarly journals focusing on nursing and allied health. - SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex with some full text pertaining to sports, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, etc.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to educational periodicals and unpublished documents available since 1966. - Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
Core Consumer Health Journal
Journal of Consumer Health on the InternetThe Journal of Consumer Health on the Internet covers international research and information on programs and services aimed at helping patients and the general public find the health information they need.
Topics addressed by the journal include:
- Evaluation and selection of Web-based consumer health resources
- Descriptions of consumer health information programs relying on Web-based resources
- Descriptions of health information or education programs that address issues of health literacy
- Training consumers to find health information on the Web
- Descriptions of online programs and services that empower consumers and patients to access and use health information
- Criteria for evaluating quality consumer health sites
- Alternative and complementary health sites
Journals Search
Browse by Subject
Consumer Health Databases
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine. - Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts, and some full text for consumer health periodicals.