Cultural Anthropology

The Max Planck Institutes carry out basic research in the life sciences, natural sciences and the social and human sciences.

The School for Advanced Research provides a dynamic environment for the advanced study and communication of knowledge about human culture, evolution, history, and creative expression.

Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association (AAA) is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology.

Founded in 1983, NAPA strives to promote the practice of anthropology, both within the discipline and among private, public, and nonprofit organizations.

The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI) is the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology (the study of humankind) in its broadest and most inclusive sense.

Arizona State Museum’s collections and experts are among the world’s most significant resources for the study of southwestern cultures.

"The Berndt Museum of Anthropology at The University of Western Australia (UWA) holds one of the most significant collections of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultural material in the world, manifesting in art, objects, archives, manuscripts, film and sound and photographic collections."

The Emory Center focuses its research on the functions and significance of ritual and myth in dual wage-earner middle-class families in the American South.

The National Museum of Ethnology (Minpaku) is a research institute and museum that provides graduate-level training in anthropology and ethnology.

NativeWeb is an international, nonprofit, educational organization dedicated to using telecommunications including computer technology and the Internet to disseminate information from and about indigenous nations, peoples, and organizations around the world; to foster communication between native and non-native peoples; to conduct research involving indigenous peoples' usage of technology and the Internet; and to provide resources, mentoring, and services to facilitate indigenous peoples' use of this technology.

The Museum has an internationally recognised collection of over 18 million cultural and scientific objects. Through exhibitions and other public programs the Australian Museum continues to inform and amaze generations of visitors about the unique flora, fauna and cultures of Australia and the Pacific.

The Canadian Museum of Civilization is Canada's national museum of human history and the most popular and most-visited museum in Canada. It is also home to the Canadian Children's Museum, the Virtual Museum of New France, the Canadian Postal Museum and the IMAX Theatre with 3D capacity.

The mission of the Carnegie Museum of Natural History is to collect and care for specimens and artifacts that document the history of life and human cultures.

"Formerly known as the San Diego Museum of Man, the Museum of Us is a new identity for a 100-plus-year-old institution"

The Peabody Museum was founded in 1866 by George Peabody and is one of the oldest museums in the world devoted to anthropology. The Museum has one of the most comprehensive collections of North American archaeology and ethnology in the world.

The Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology, formerly the Lowie Museum of Anthropology, was founded in 1901. Its major patron, Phoebe Apperson Hearst, supported systematic collecting efforts by both archaeologists and ethnographers to provide the University of California with the materials for a museum to support a department of anthropology.

The museum was founded in 1886; the Archives, in 1894. In 2003, these two organizations joined to become British Columbia’s combined provincial museum and archives, collecting artifacts, documents and specimens of British Columbia’s natural and human history, safeguarding them for the future, and sharing them with the world.

The National Museum of Natural History (NMNH), opened in 1910, is part of the Smithsonian Institution. The diverse collections of the Department of Anthropology are an unparalleled resource containing historical and contemporary materials that document the world's cultures and history of anthropology.

The Fowler Museum at UCLA explores global arts and cultures with an emphasis on works from Africa, Asia, the Pacific, and the Americas—past and present.

Our Museum has investigated the behavioral differences between Neanderthals and archaic modern humans; the social and economic strategies of hunters and gatherers; the transition from foraging to agriculture and animal domestication; the establishment of village life; the shift from egalitarian societies to those based on hereditary differences in rank; the creation of archaic states and empires; and the impact of Western colonialism on non-Western societies.