Digital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, and more, encompassing many time periods and world cultures. Note: First time, off-campus users accessing via OpenAthens will be required to create a personal account
British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. Parts of the collection are only available to subscribers.
This website provides a unified search interface for over 20 digital collections covering Britain from 1500 to 1900. Researchers may also link to individual collections. Most of the resources are free; some require a subscription. Examples of collections pertinent to Britain between 1500 and 1700 include:
* Cause Papers in Diocesan Courts of Abp. of York, 1300-1858
* London Lives 1690-1800
* Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
* Witches in Early Modern England
Rich website linking to primary sources for all periods of European history. Organized first by country, and then loosely chronologically. Includes transcriptions, facsimiles, and, sometimes, translations. Maintained at Brigham Young University.
This multifaceted tool places art works from the Metropolitan Museum's collection within geographical and chronological context. It has excellent thematic essays (background information) that cover the historical eras and cultures that produced the works of art (the primary sources), along with maps and key events from each place and time period.
Records from more than 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866 from archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world, providing information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes.
Indexes to Primary Sources
Use these tools to help locate more primary sources. You may need to use Interlibrary Loan to acquire the actual documents.
Indexes over 460,000 books that were published between 1473 and 1800 primarily in Britain and North America. Works are predominantly in English and are from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries.