Have a Question? Ask Me!
Background Information
These resources can help give you a quick overview of a topic with more credibility than a broad Google search.
When searching these resources:
- use broad terms and concepts
- use synonyms or related concepts
**Note that print reference books are located in the Reference Area of Rose Library and in on-site storage! Check first to see the location for the book that you are interested in.**
Online Reference Sources
-
AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online This link opens in a new windowReference resource containing encyclopedia articles, illustrations, definitions, biographies, bibliographies, and learning resources covering all major science disciplines.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowSearchable online reference book collection covering all subjects from the arts to zoology.
-
Annual Review of Environment and ResourcesThe Annual Review of Environment and Resources provides authoritative reviews of topics within environmental science and engineering.
-
SAGE Reference Environment EncyclopediasA selection of reference materials relating to the environment, climate change, energy and society.
-
Statistical Abstracts of the US (2013-present) This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States with information for 2013 onward.
-
CIA World FactBook This link opens in a new windowInformation on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
-
UNdataProvides statistical information for every country in the world on numerous topics, including energy and the environment.
Patents
Patent Databases
-
US Patent and Trademark Office Patent Database This link opens in a new windowPatent Public Search is the official database for U.S. patent and patent applications. Updated weekly with new documents. Digitized historic patents available back to 1790.
-
Google PatentsFull-text search of patents and patent applications from the US and around the world. Includes documents from the USPTO, EPO, JPO, SIPO, WIPO, DPMA, and CIPO.
Patent Tutorials
-
Multi-Step U.S. Patent Search StrategyFrom the US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Summary of the steps involved in doing a thorough patent search.
-
USPTO Patent Public Search: Basic Search Overview (PDF)Get started with Patent Public Search Basic Search, including searching by patent number or keyword.
-
USPTO Patent Public Search: Advanced Search Overview (PDF)Guide to Patent Public Search Advanced Search, including special search terms.
-
Overview of PatentsLinkedIn Learning video tutorial covering the basics of patents, how to obtain them, and patent infringement.
Reference Books
Select a tab below to find reference sources related to your area of study.
-
Dictionary for Environmental Science
by
Call Number: GE10 .B37 2006Located in Rose Library - Reference -
Encyclopedia of Sustainability
by
Call Number: GE10 .C65 2010ISBN: 9780313352614Publication Date: 2009-12-09This three-volume encyclopedia explores the concept of sustainability in the contexts of the environment, economics, and justice. -
The Dictionary of Environmental Law and Science
by
Call Number: GE10 .D43 2005ISBN: 0921503806Publication Date: 2005-01-01 -
One Planet, Many People
by
Call Number: GE149 .O53 2005ISBN: 9280725718Publication Date: 2005-01-07Issues discussed include: population growth and urbanisation, natural resources consumption, land use intensification, biodiversity and habitat loss; environmental impacts and trends including global warming, air and water pollution, and the impacts on oceans and coastal zones, forests and tundra; changes that result from geo-hazards such as earthquakes and tsunamis, climate hazards such as floods and droughts, and industrial hazards such as nuclear accidents and oil spills; and suggestions for mitigating the effects of global environmental change. -
Environmental Issues in American History
by
Call Number: GE150 .M338 2006ISBN: 0313322082Publication Date: 2006-04-30In this exhaustively researched study, primary documents support different sides of various questions, such as the use of water as an energy source, deforestation, gold mining in California, and the emergence of wildlife conservation. -
Un Millennium Development Library: Environment and Human Well-Being
by
Call Number: HD75.6 .E56 2005ISBN: 1844072282Publication Date: 2005-06-01The Millennium Development Goals, adopted at the UN Millennium Summit in 2000, are the world's targets for dramatically reducing extreme poverty in its many dimensions by 2015 income poverty, hunger, disease, exclusion, lack of infrastructure and shelter while promoting gender equality, education, health and environmental sustainability. -
Environmental Law
by
Call Number: KF3775 .E473 2009ISBN: 9781605902784Publication Date: 2009-10-15 -
Environmental Health Sourcebook
by
Call Number: RA565 .E484 2016ISBN: 9780780813519Publication Date: 2015-09-30Provides basic consumer health information about the health effects of environmental hazards and diseases linked to environmental causes, with facts about the impact on specific populations. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources. -
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History
by
Call Number: GF10 .E63 2004Located in Rose Library - Reference
-
Environmentally Conscious Transportation
by
Call Number: HE147.65 .E585 2008ISBN: 9780471793694Publication Date: 2008-03-03Provides a foundation for understanding and implementing methods for reducing the environmental impact of a wide range of transportation modes, from private automobiles (with a separate chapter on biofuels) to heavy trucks and buses to rail and public transportation systems to aircraft. -
Environmental Engineering Dictionary
by
Call Number: TD9 .L44 2005ISBN: 086587848XPublication Date: 2005-04-08The terms included in this dictionary feature time-saving cites to the definitions' source, including the Code of Federal Regulations, the Environmental Protection Agency, and the Department of Energy. A list of the reference source documents is also included. -
Environmental Engineer's Mathematics Handbook
by
Call Number: TD145 .S676 2005ISBN: 1566706815Publication Date: 2004-11-23Advanced mathematics used in engineering is studied here in this text which examines the relationship between the principles in natural processes and those employed in engineered processes. -
Energy Management Handbook
by
Call Number: TJ163.2 .T87 2007ISBN: 9780881735420Publication Date: 2006-04-01
-
Dictionary of Energy
by
Call Number: TJ163.16 .D53 2006ISBN: 9780080968117Publication Date: 2014-10-20Contains over 10,000 terms, across 40 key subject areas in energy (e.g. solar, oil & gas, economics, models, policy, basic concepts, sustainable development, systems, renewable/alternative energy, water, etc), with additional window essays on key issues, such as Biomass, Ecological Footprint, Exergy, Fuel Cell, and Hybrid Vehicles. -
Encyclopedia of Energy
by
Call Number: TJ163.28 .E53 2004ISBN: 012176480XPublication Date: 2004-05-11This highly topical reference draws together all aspects of energy, covering a wealth of areas throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences. -
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy
by
Call Number: TJ163.28 .M33 2001ISBN: 0028650212Publication Date: 1905-06-01Articles examine the subject from various angles-concepts and sources; exploration, processing, delivery, and storage; applications and usage; and economics and regulation. -
Alternate Energy
by
Call Number: TJ807.4 .A48 2004ISBN: 0881734365Publication Date: 2004-09-01Detailed technology assessments for specific alternative energy resources are presented, as well as an insightful discussion of technology implementation issues from the author's own well-informed and cautiously optimistic perspective.
