Getting Started
Welcome to the Geographic Science Research Guide! Use the tabs above or the links below to find articles, books, and other research materials relating to topics in Geographic Science. Please feel free to contact me with your research questions.
Quick Links for Geographic Science Research
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull online text for scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, and more.
- ProQuest Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Resource for journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications related to environmental science. - US Geological Survey Historical Topographic Map Collection This link opens in a new windowA database of recent topographic maps, as well as high-resolution scans of more than 178,000 historical topographic maps of the United States
- Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science (SAGE)The Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science covers the essence of this exciting, new, and expanding field in an easily understood but richly detailed style.
- Geographic Information Systems (GIS) DataJMU Libraries research guide with links to sources of GIS data.
Useful Tools
- Citing SourcesJMU Libraries guide to citation styles and citation management tools.
- Connect from Off CampusHow to set up your computer to access eBooks, databases, and other online library resources from off campus.
- LibKey Nomad Browser ExtensionMakes it easy to download article PDFs available from JMU Libraries when you're looking at journal websites or Wikipedia.
- ZoteroFree, open source citation management tool.
