How do I find an article in a database?
If your instructor has asked you to find a peer reviewed, scholarly, or refereed article, the easiest way is through the subject specific library databases.
Below are databases that are subject specific. Use the filters while searching to broaden or narrow your article search.
Want to learn more about what makes an article peer reviewed, scholarly or refereed? Check out the Types of Sources tab.
Before you start
Be sure you are connected to Official JMU Wireless Network or configuring your computer to Connect from Off-Campus!
While searching for an article
Look for this button to check if we have access to the article through another database or journal.
If we don't have access to an article
You can request an electronic copy of it from another library using Interlibrary Loan. This can usually take 1-2 days.
Top Geology & Environmental Science Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
- GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new windowResource for research and communications in the earth sciences, built around a core database of peer-reviewed journals.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowGeoscience literature of the world, including references journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 820 journals on agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning.
Other helpful geology and environmental science databases
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowIndex with full text of Annual Reviews in biological and medical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
- BioOne This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journal collection focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. - ProQuest Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Resource for journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications related to environmental science. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts with some full text journals from the publisher Elsevier, the majority of which are in science, technology and medicine.
Searching with GeoScienceWorld
GeoScienceWorld Tutorial
Additional Resources
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines.