Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
View Emergency News feed
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on over 480,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
A biographical resource for notable people in American history.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Biographies of 55,000 deceased men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past from the earliest times and all walks of life.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Resource for research and communications in the earth sciences, built around a core database of peer-reviewed journals.
Recommended Reference Books
The following books may be helpful to you in finding more information about your historic figures.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Call Number: Q141 .C55 2008 Internet
Publication Date: 2008
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented
Science and Its Times
Call Number: Carrier Reference Q175.46 .S35 2000
The volumes are chronologically ordered from 2000 B.C. to the present, addressing a wide variety of scientific developments with explanations of underlying factors and their effects on politics, economics, culture and daily life. A to Z of Earth Scientists
Call Number: Rose Stacks QE21 .G38 2003
A comprehensive one-volume A to Z reference of Earth scientists. The Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science
Call Number: Rose Reference Q141 .B5285 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Combines "facts-fronted" fast access to biographical details with highly readable accounts and analyses of nearly 3000 scientists' lives, works, and accomplishments.
JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
Citation Management Tools
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database of bibliographic records
Help guide from ProQuest (owners of RefWorks).
Zotero Help Guide (U. of Arkansas)
The University of Arkansas Library has created this help guide for Zotero users.
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources