Humanities Librarian
Image Collections and More
- Empire Online (1492-1962) This link opens in a new windowFull text primary source documents, including original manuscripts and printed material covering colonial history, politics, culture and society from 1492 to 1962.
From the Further Resources tab, click the Image Gallery to browse images. - JSTOR Image Search This link opens in a new windowArtstor is now on JSTOR. Digital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, and more, encompassing many time periods and world cultures.
- British Library: Images OnlineSearch images from the British Library.
- British PathéA growing digital archive of newsreels created by the British Pathé company from the 1890s through the 1970s. These videos include areas such as historical events and documentaries as well as travelogues and contemporary coverage of culture.
Historical Newspapers and Magazines
- 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull text searchable newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) that form a comprehensive collection of early English news media.
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new windowDigitized full run of the world's most iconic illustrated newspaper from 1842-2003.
- National Geographic Magazine Archive 1888-1994 This link opens in a new windowSearch for images, maps, cartoons, paintings; browse magazines from 1888-1994.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowFull text PDF facsimiles of specific articles as well as complete pages, including photos and advertisements, from every issue of the London Times from 1785 through 6 years ago.