Collection Development Librarian
Citing Sources
-
Chicago Style ResourcesUse the Notes & Bibliography style of Chicago.
Selected Books
-
Introducing Global Issues
by
Ebook. "Each chapter provides an analytical overview of the issue addressed, identifies central actors and perspectives, and outlines past progress and future prospects." -
Globalization: a Very Short Introduction
by
Ebook. "Considers the major dimensions of globalization: economic, political, cultural, ideological, and ecological... Engages with the hotly contested question of whether globalization is, ultimately, a good or a bad thing." -
The Routledge International Handbook of Globalization Studies
by
Ebook. "Offers students clear and informed chapters on the history of globalization and key theories that have considered the causes and consequences of the globalization process. There are substantive sections looking at demographic, economic, technological, social and cultural changes in globalization. The handbook examines many negative aspects - new wars, slavery, illegal migration, pollution and inequality - but concludes with an examination of responses to these problems through human rights organizations, international labour law and the growth of cosmopolitanism." -
Global History, Globally
by
Ebook. "Divided into three distinct but tightly interweaved sections, the book's chapters provide regional surveys of the practice of global history on all continents, review some of the research in four core fields of global history and consider a number of problems that global historians have contended with in their work. The authors hail from various world regions and are themselves leading global historians."
Books and Articles
-
JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, literature, etc.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts to more than 1,800 journals in 40 languages on world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the US and Canada.
Primary Sources
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull text collection of international and local news sources.
-
New York Times This link opens in a new windowFull access to The New York Times and International New York Times content. Access also includes unlimited access to the Archives and learning tools such as the Learning Network and the New York Times inEducation website.
Note: First time users will need to create a one year renewable account using these instructions -
New York Times: Historical This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue to about 3 years ago.
-
Washington Post This link opens in a new windowFull access to The Washington Post online coverage, including unlimited access to interactives and videos. Access is available in the Library Catalog but you can also sign up for an individual account for more streamlined and personalized access. Note: To create an individual account use these instructions.
-
Washington Post: Historical This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue to about 15 years ago.