Collection Development Librarian
Looking for full text?
-
JournalsUse the Journals tool to look for our access to journals, magazines, and newspapers.
-
JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Request articles, books, and other materials not in the JMU Libraries.
Background Information
-
Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new windowSingle-source reference for the study of the Greco-Roman world containing extended articles, interactive maps, audio, and images on topics ranging from ancient economy, Jewish studies, to Roman law and Greek mythology.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowSubject specific research guides with annotated bibliographic lists of recommended books and articles. Use the Classics subject.
-
The Cambridge World History of Sexualities: Volume 2, Systems of Thought and Belief
by
Ebook. "Volume II focuses on systems of thought and belief in the history of world sexualities, ranging from early humans to contemporary approaches. Comprising eighteen chapters, this volume opens with a chapter on the evolutionary legacy and then delves into the sexualities of ancient Egypt, the Near East, Greece, and Rome..."
Books and Articles
-
JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, literature, etc.
-
L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts to scholarly work covering all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity through the 8th century A.D., including language and linguistics, history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, science, and more.
Selected Scholarly Books
Gender: Antiquity and Its Legacy
Ebook. "Offers a sophisticated and historically rounded reading of gender in antiquity in order to map out the future of contemporary gender studies. By re-examining ancient notions of sexual difference, bodies, culture, and identity, Holmes shows that Plato, Aristotle, the Stoics, Epicureans and others force us to reassess what is at stake in present-day discussions about gender."
Studying Gender in Classical Antiquity
Ebook. "Investigates how varying practices of gender shaped people's lives and experiences across the societies of ancient Greece and Rome. Exploits a wide range of archaeological, material cultural, visual, spatial, demographic, epigraphical and literary evidence to consider households, families, life-cycles and the engendering of time, legal and political institutions, beliefs about bodies, sex and sexuality, gender and space, the economic implications of engendered practices, and gender in religion and magic."
Women in the Ancient Near East
Ebook. "Offers a lucid account of the daily life of women in Mesopotamia from the third millennium BCE until the beginning of the Hellenistic period. The book systematically presents the lives of women emerging from the available cuneiform material and discusses modern scholarly opinion. Stol's book is the first full-scale treatment of the history of women in the Ancient Near East."
A Companion to Women in the Ancient World
Ebook. "The first interdisciplinary, methodologically based collection of readings to address the study of women in the ancient world while weaving textual, visual, and archaeological evidence into its approach... Essays and case studies cover an unprecedented breadth of chronological and geographical range, genres, and themes."
Women in Antiquity: Real Women Across the Ancient World
Ebook. "Gathers brand new essays from some of the most respected scholars of ancient history, archaeology, and physical anthropology to create an engaging overview of the lives of women in antiquity... The sections cover Mesopotamia, Egypt, Anatolia, Cyprus, the Levant, the Aegean, Italy, and Western Europe, and include many lesser-known cultures such as the Celts, Iberia, Carthage, the Black Sea region, and Scandinavia."
Sex in Antiquity: Exploring Gender and Sexuality in the Ancient World
Ebook. "Looking at sex and sexuality from a variety of historical, sociological and theoretical perspectives, as represented in a variety of media, Sex in Antiquity represents a vibrant picture of the discipline of ancient gender and sexuality studies, showcasing the work of leading international scholars as well as that of emerging talents and new voices."
A Companion to Greek and Roman Sexualities
Ebook. "Presents a comprehensive collection of original essays relating to aspects of gender and sexuality in the classical world... Covers artistic and literary genres, various social environments of sexual conduct, and the technical disciplines of medicine, magic, physiognomy, and dream interpretation."
Sexuality in Greek and Roman Culture
Ebook. "Covers a wide range of subjects, including Greek pederasty and the symposium, ancient prostitution, representations of women in Greece and Rome, and the public regulation of sexual behavior."
Controlling Desires: Sexuality in Ancient Greece and Rome
Print. "Widely lauded as an accessible introduction to sexual practices, attitudes, and beliefs in the classical world. Treating Greece and Rome in separate sections, with ample cross-references and comparisons, Kirk Ormand presents a wide array of evidence from literary texts and visual arts, including two new chapters on Greek vase painting and Roman artifacts and wall paintings."
Primary Sources
-
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowThe digital Loeb Classical Library offers an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of Greek and Latin Classical literature, history, philosophy, and more.
-
Diotíma (v. 3.0)"A resource for information on women, gender, sex, sexualities, race, ethnicity, class, status, masculinity, enslavement, disability, and the intersections among them in the ancient Mediterranean world." Some of the pages may not load. For identifying primary sources, see the pages for Translations and Image Collections.
-
Ancient History SourcebookA website with links to ancient texts, most in English translation, hosted at Fordham. If a link has become inactive, try locating the source using a search engine. Look for sections on gender and sexuality.
Selected Primary Source Books
Women's Life in Greece and Rome: A Source Book in Translation
Ebook. "This highly acclaimed collection, the first sourcebook on ancient women and now in its fourth edition, provides a unique look into the public and private lives and legal status of Greek and Roman women."
Women in the Classical World: Image and Text
Ebook. "Brings together a great wealth of materials--poetry, vase painting, legislation, medical treatises, architecture, religious and funerary art, women's ornaments, historical epics, political speeches, even ancient coins--to present women in the historical and cultural context of their time."
Women's Religions in the Greco-Roman World: A Sourcebook
Ebook. "A collection of translations of primary texts relevant to women's religion in Western antiquity, from the fourth century BCE to the fifth century CE. The selections are taken from the plethora of ancient religions, including Judaism and Christianity."
Sexuality in Greek and Roman Society and Literature: A Sourcebook
Ebook. "This second edition includes an updated review of sexuality in Greece and Rome, an expanded bibliography and numerous new passages with original translations. This book provides readers with detailed information, notes, and original translated passages on the fascinating and multi-faceted theme of ancient sexuality."
Homosexuality in Greece and Rome: : A Sourcebook of Basic Documents
Ebook. "Covering an extensive period--from the earliest Greek texts in the late seventh century B.C.E. to Greco-Roman texts of the third and fourth centuries C.E.--the volume includes well-known writings by Plato, Sappho, Aeschines, Catullus, and Juvenal, as well as less well known but highly relevant and intriguing texts such as graffiti, comic fragments, magical papyri, medical treatises, and selected artistic evidence."
Games of Venus: An Anthology of Greek and Roman Erotic Verse from Sappho to Ovid
Ebook. "The first comprehensive anthology in English of ancient Greek and Roman erotic verse... Presents the whole spectrum of erotic poetry from Sappho to Ovid in translations which evoke the full range of styles and tones present in the original Greek and Latin."
Sex and Sexuality in Classical Athens
Ebook. See Part II "Documents" for primary sources. Part I "Debates" is scholarship. "A broad look at the sex lives and sexual beliefs of ancient Athenians... Key areas such as marriage, same-sex relationships, prostitution, sexual fantasy, rape, adultery and sexual attraction are dealt with in chapters which discuss the original sources, highlight their strengths and weaknesses as evidence, and consider the main scholarly approaches to them."