Humanities Librarian
Looking for full text?
- JournalsUse the Journals tool to look for our access to journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Request articles, books, and other materials not in the JMU Libraries.
Articles and Books
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, literature, etc.
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of over 62 million titles cataloged by libraries worldwide that includes manuscripts written as early as the 1000 B.C., books, audio visual media, and internet source - HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Primary Sources
To browse more primary sources, visit the Primary Sources page of the research guide for History of Early America.
- Accessible Archives Complete This link opens in a new windowDiverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture.
- America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-1922 This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover digitized historic newspapers from every state in the US from Readex.
- America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable platform of primary source collections. Contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other scarce material printed and distributed in America during the 17th-19th centuries, documenting American history, culture, and daily life.
- Library of Congress: American Revolution: A Resource Guide: Digital Collections"The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of primary source materials associated with the American Revolution era (1763-1783), including manuscripts, broadsides, government documents, books, images, and maps." Look for the "Rights & Access" information to check for use restrictions.
- Massachusetts Historical Society: Digital CollectionsSeveral collections on the subject of the American Revolution.
- Papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry This link opens in a new windowLetters, diaries, travel journals, recipe books, and more from two women of one of South Carolina's leading families.
- Papers of George Washington Digital Edition This link opens in a new windowThe Papers of George Washington: Diaries, Revolutionary War, Colonial, Confederation, Presidential, and Retirement from 1748-1799.
- Papers of James Madison This link opens in a new windowDocuments from Madison's times as Congressman, Secretary of State, President of the United States, and in retirement.
- Papers of the Revolutionary Era Pinckney Statesman This link opens in a new windowThe papers of three members of notable Pinckneys from South Carolina: brothers Charles Cotesworth Pinckney (1746–1825) and Thomas Pinckney (1750–1828) and their cousin Charles Pinckney (1757–1824).