Humanities Librarian
Looking for full text?
- JournalsUse the Journals tool to look for our access to journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Request articles, books, and other materials not in the JMU Libraries.
Catalogs
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Catalog of over 62 million titles cataloged by libraries worldwide that includes manuscripts written as early as the 1000 B.C., books, audio visual media, and internet source
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, literature, etc.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Internet Archive
- Wayback MachineSearch for older versions of webpages over time.
Magazines
- Ebony (1959-2008)A monthly magazine focused on African American culture and news. Cover-to-cover scans through Google Magazines. Browse by date, or check "Search all issues."
- People (1994-)An American magazine with a focus on celebrity.
- Rolling Stone (1990-)A magazine for music and popular culture.
- Time (1923-)A magazine for current events.
Newspapers
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull text collection of international and local news sources.
- Alternative Press Index & Archive This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database for international alternative, radical, and left periodicals covering socialism, revolution, ecology, anarchism, feminism, sexuality, and organized labor.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for ethnic, minority, and international newspapers and magazines. - New York Times: Historical This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue to about 3 years ago.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of prominent Black newspapers, such as the Chicago Defender, Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, and The Norfolk Journal and Guide.
- Washington Post: Historical This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue to about 15 years ago.
Video
- American Archive of Public BroadcastingMore than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs covering national, regional, and local issues including education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion, filmmaking, and public affairs.
- HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Video archive of African American oral histories documenting the men and women who have made significant contributions to American life, history, and culture during the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. - Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new windowStreaming video of news from NBC (1968 to date) and CNN (1995 to date) plus indexing of television network news from all the major networks, 1968 to date.
Government Information
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowFully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database containing U.S. statutory materials, scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and the full text of state and federal cases.
- Oyez This link opens in a new windowTranscript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, full-text Supreme Court opinions, and information on Justices.
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United StatesAvailable online from Hoover to Obama. From the Office of the Federal Register and National Archives and Records Administration.
Statistics
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A demographic research tool that includes over 220 years of data and enables the creation of customizable, interactive maps. - Statistical Abstracts of the US (1878-2012) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States back to the mid 19th century.