"Now in a fully updated edition, this invaluable reference work is a fundamental resource for scholars, students, conservationists, and citizens interested in America's national park system. The extensive collection of documents illustrates the system's creation, development, and management. The documents include laws that established and shaped the system; policy statements on park management; Park Service self-evaluations; and outside studies by a range of scientists, conservation organizations, private groups, and businesses. A new appendix includes summaries of pivotal court cases that have further interpreted the Park Service mission."
From the Library of Congress. "Proceedings of the last and richest of four major conferences on the national parks sponsored by the Department of the Interior, 1911-1917, which highlighted the policy issues surrounding the parks, led to the creation of the National Park Service, and helped shape its mandate."
Not affiliated with NPS. "A portal to electronic publications covering the history of the National Park Service (NPS) and the cultural and natural history of the national parks, monuments, and historic sites of the U.S. National Park System." Browse archive by park or region.
"The NPS History Collection encompass the breadth and depth of the agency's history as it preserves and shares the stories of the history, culture, management, resources, challenges, and successes of the NPS... Use our online resources to explore the many aspects of the NPS, get to know the men and women who manage and protect the National Park System, and celebrate more than 100 years of NPS history."
"Images of America’s special places, the people that care for them, and the visitors that love them. Search our online selection from the 400,000 images in the collection to see if there is anyone you know or anywhere you have been."
"Nothing beats listening to oral history interviews or reading interview transcripts. The stories of American history come alive, whether the narrators are friends of a president, a landscape architect of the Blue Ridge Parkway, a World War II "Rosie" who worked in shipyards, a Cold War missileer, or a former director of the National Park Service."
"This collection documents the history, cultural aspects and geological formations of areas that eventually became National Parks. The collection consists of approximately 200 maps dating from the 17th century to the present, reflecting early mapping of the areas that would become four National Parks, as well as the parks themselves."
"Prompted by the condemnation of their land, the residents began writing letters to National Park and other government officials to negotiate their rights and to request various services, property, and harvests. Typically represented in the popular media as lawless, illiterate, and incompetent, these mountaineers prove themselves otherwise in this poignant collection of letters. The history told by the residents themselves both adds to and counters the story that is generally accepted about them."
Collections of images related to the history of the park. Photo galleries include Civilian Conservation Corps, Early Log Structures, Early Park, Early Park Souvenirs, Early Trail Construction, Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) for Skyline Drive, Former Mountain Residents, Pre-Park Resort Life, Segregated Facilities 1939-1950, Skyline Drive Construction, Hoovers and Rapidan Camp, and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.
From the Library of Congress. Photographs of former residents from 1935 by Arthur Rothstein for the FSA (Farm Security Administration). Refer below to the film Rothstein's First Assignment: A Story About Documentary Truth for critical context.
Court records related to the park. "A collaborative project between James Madison University and the Rockingham County Circuit Courthouse that is making rare documents from Rockingham County’s storied past accessible to the public." Look for "SNP" collections.
A comprehensive collection for exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century. The collection features indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers.
"Revised with a new epilogue, "We the People," this fifth edition of National Parks: The American Experience continues the highly engaging story of how Americans invented and expanded the concept of national parks. A prominent adviser to the Ken Burns Emmy Award-winning documentary, The National Parks: America's Best Idea, Alfred Runte is renowned as the nation's leading historian on the meaning and management of these treasured lands."