Research Guides: ISCI 101: Find Resources

Information Resources

This search looks for items with your search terms in the title, author, subject, and all other fields.

Think of synonyms for your search terms, and use or to add them to your search: Example: women or woman or female will find both Little Women and Wonder Woman
Use an asterisk ('*') to find multiple variations of a word: Example: teen* finds items with teen, teens, teenager, or teenagers.

Enclose search phrases in quotes:
- "global warming"
Narrow the focus of your search with and:
- Example: steroids and baseball will find only items with both terms

You can combine these strategies by putting different concepts on different rows.

AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online This link opens in a new window
Reference resource containing encyclopedia articles, illustrations, definitions, biographies, bibliographies, and learning resources covering all major science disciplines.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Complete Encyclopaedia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, as well as videos, blogs, news, research tools, and links to editor-selected websites.

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full access to The New York Times and International New York Times content. Access also includes unlimited access to the Archives and learning tools such as the Learning Network and the New York Times inEducation website.
Note: First time users will need to create a one year renewable account using these instructions
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
An online version of the Wall Street Journal
Note: First time users will need to create a personal account using these instructions.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full access to The Washington Post online coverage, including unlimited access to interactives and videos. Access is available in the Library Catalog but you can also sign up for an individual account for more streamlined and personalized access. Note: To create an individual account use these instructions.

ProPublica
An independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest
NPR (National Public Radio)
A nonprofit membership media organization that syndicates to a network of 900 public radio stations in the U.S.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 820 journals on agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cross-search Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts, ProQuest Atmospheric Science Journals, Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), and Oceanic Abstracts.
ProQuest Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cross-search 30 ProQuest resources in the biological sciences. Includes resources in animal behavior, ecology, endocrinology, genetics, microbiology, neurosciences, plant science, toxicology, and more.