Reference Collections
- Calligraphy/QalamAn introduction to Arab, Ottoman, and Turkish calligraphy. Contains videos, reproductions of calligraphic images, and interactive tools and information.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowReference resource covering fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
- Europa World This link opens in a new windowInformation covering political elections, economics, important people, country profiles and industry statistics in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
- Ottoman History PodcastsAcademic podcasts created from interviews and lectures. Focus is Ottoman history, broadly defined. You may search or browse subjects as diverse as nationalism, intellectual history, World War I, and British colonialism.
Bibliography
- The Middle Eastern City and Islamic UrbanismThis annotated bibliography focuses on works in Western languages. Organized by geographical area, with indexes for cities, authors, and broad subjects.
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopaedia of Islam Online This link opens in a new windowA large-scale collective reference work compiled by the most prominent scholars in the field, touching on all aspects of Islam from the time of the Prophet to the present day. Includes the Encyclopaedia of Islam Second Edition and the Encyclopaedia of Islam.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias (ORE): Asian HistoryOnline access. Updated monthly. "Designed to cover the entire sweep of Asian history in its broadest definition, from prehistory to the present and into the future. Provides access to state-of-the-art research and also connects readers to the full range of internet resources for research and teaching, including audio, visual, video materials, digitized archives, and other primary sources."
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World HistoryScholarly work with the particular perspective of the interactions of people and events.
The Cambridge History of Turkey4 volumes
A Companion to the History of the Middle EastCovers religious, social, cultural, economic, political and military history. Signed essays by scholars addressing key issues and the ways that historians have approached them.
- Encyclopaedia IranicaScholarly online encyclopedia of Iranian civilization. Collaborative project at Columbia University.
Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire"A thorough overview of the history and civilization of the Ottomans, with approximately 450 A-to-Z entries focusing on major events, personalities, institutions, and terms."
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic CulturesInterdisciplinary collaboration of scholars, crossing history, geographic borders, and disciplines.
The Ottoman World"Arranged in five thematic sections, with contributions from thirty specialist historians, The Ottoman World addresses these questions, examining aspects of the social and socio-ideological composition of this major pre-modern empire, and offers a combination of broad synthesis and detailed investigation that is both informative and intended to raise points for future debate."
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic WorldThis is a revised edition of The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World (1995).
- World History EncyclopediaAn online encyclopedia with articles reviewed by an editorial team. Formerly known as the Ancient History Encyclopedia.