Books at JMU and Beyond
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Catalog of over 62 million titles cataloged by libraries worldwide that includes manuscripts written as early as the 1000 B.C., books, audio visual media, and internet source - HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Google Books Advanced SearchGoogle has digitized thousands of books and magazines and made them searchable. Use this advanced search interface for precise searching. You may be able to access the full text of books that are out of copyright. If an item is only available in "snippet view" or "limited preview," you may be able to obtain that item from our own collection or via Interlibrary Loan.
Sample Subject Headings
The following subject headings are a great place to start:
- Museums
- Archaeological museums and collections
- Art museums
- Children's museums
- Historic house museums
- Historic buildings
- Historical museums
- Museum techniques
- Science museums
From there, you can use a variety of different source types to continue to narrow down your search:
- Bibliography
- Directories
- Handbooks Manuals Etc
- Historiography
- Catalogs
Or by theme:
- Acquisitions
- Collection Management
- History
- Indians of North America
- Law and Legislation
- Popular Culture
- Social Aspects
You might wish to use geographic limiters by nation, region, or state:
- United States
- Great Britain
- England
- Europe
- California
- Washington D C
Some museums even have their own subject headings:
- Royal Ontario Museum
- National Museum of Canada
- British Museum
- Indianapolis Museum of Art
Browsing Areas
The following sections are good for browsing for books on museums, which are shelved on the 3rd Stack Level/2nd floor of Carrier Library.
- AM 1-(501) - Museums. Collectors and collecting
- AM 10-100 - By country
- AM 111-160 - Museology. Museum methods, techniques, etc.
- AM 200-(501) - Collectors and collecting