Trouble Using a News Subscription?
Check our Notices & Alerts
Check our 
Historical Issues of Newspapers
JMU Libraries has access to these historical newspapers. Find more by using the Journals tool to search for a newspaper title.
- America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-1922 This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover digitized historic newspapers from every state in the US from Readex.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new windowDigitized Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada, from historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, find coverage of events reported by and for Indigenous communities.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDigitized US newspaper pages from 1789-1963, as well as directory of information about historic newspapers published since 1690.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text for ethnic, minority, and international newspapers and magazines. - Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new windowDigitized full run of the world's most iconic illustrated newspaper from 1842-2003.
- New York Times: Historical This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue to about 3 years ago.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of prominent Black newspapers, such as the Chicago Defender, Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, and The Norfolk Journal and Guide.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowFull text PDF facsimiles of specific articles as well as complete pages, including photos and advertisements, from every issue of the London Times.
- Washington Post: Historical This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue to about 15 years ago.
Historical Issues of Local Newspapers
Find historic issues of local newspapers using these links.
- Daily News RecordHarrisonburg newspaper from 1825 onward.
- The BreezePDFs of issues of JMU's student newspaper dating to 1922.
- NewspaperArchive - Virginia This link opens in a new windowFull text pdfs for select historical newspapers from the state of Virginia, includes publications from Danville, Harrisonburg, and Petersburg.
- Virginia Newspaper ProjectFrom the Library of Virginia: "The Virginia Newspaper Project is part of United States Newspaper Program, a national effort to locate, describe, inventory, preserve, and provide public access to the United States imprint newspapers housed in the commonwealth."