It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Gathered here are parts I and II of the Handbook of Oral History, which set the benchmark for knowledge of the field. The eminent contributors discuss the history and methodologies of a field that once was the domain of history scholars who were responding to trends within the academy, but which has increasingly become democratized and widely used outside the realm of historical research. This handbook will be both a traveling guide and essential touchstone for anyone fascinated by this dynamic and expanding discipline."
"This wide-ranging volume illustrates similarities and differences in oral history from around the world... It also details the subjects- such as women's history, family history, gay and lesbian history, ethnic history and disability history- to which oral history has made a significant contribution... The collection details issues in the theory and practice of oral history and covers influential debates in its development over the past sixty years."
"Provides a comprehensive guide to oral history for researchers and students in diverse fields including history, sociology, anthropology, education, psychology, social work, and ethnographic methods."
Doug Boyd's "blog about oral history, archives and digital technologies and features regular posts on topics relating to recording, archiving, digital preservation and online dissemination of oral histories."
Google has digitized thousands of books and magazines and made them searchable. Use this advanced search interface for precise searching. You may be able to access the full text of books that are out of copyright. If an item is only available in "snippet view" or "limited preview," you may be able to obtain that item from our own collection or via Interlibrary Loan.