REL 410: Dharma/Adharma: Hindu Ethical Reasoning

"Terms are provided in both devanagari and roman transliteration along with their English translations."

"The encyclopedia features the major systems of Hindu thought, covers figures from Manu to Gandhi and includes locations from Ramesvaram, on the southernmost tip of India, to the Himalayas in the north. Written with assurance, learning, sympathy and insight, this is an invaluable reference for students, adherents of the religion and those unfamiliar with this diverse world faith."

Ebook. "Hinduism is practised by nearly eighty per cent of India's population, and by some seventy million people outside India. In this Very Short Introduction, Kim Knott offers a succinct and authoritative overview of this major religion, and analyses the challenges facing it in the twenty-first century."

"This translation of a major French study argues for the underlying unity of the many facets of Hinduism. Biardeau uses such socio-religious testimonies of Hindu civilization as archaeological monuments and literary texts of the past centuries to illustrate her point and shed new light on the religion and civilization which produced it."

"The Hindu bioethics presented in this book are philosophically pluralistic and ethically contextual, giving them that conceptual flexibility which is often missing in Western religions, but which is demanded by the twenty-first century's complex moral problems. Comprehensive in scope and passionate in nature, Crawford's study is an important resource for analyses of practical ethics, bioethics, and health care."

"Das explores the Mahabharata from many perspectives and compares the successes and failures of the poem's characters to those of contemporary individuals, many of them highly visible players in the world of economics, business, and politics. In every case, he finds striking parallels that carry lessons for everyone faced with ethical and moral dilemmas in today's complex world."

"The Mahapuranas embody the received tradition of Hindu mythology. This anthology contains fresh translations of these myths, only a few of which have ever been available in English before, thus providing a rich new portion of Hindu mythology."

"An ideal resource for courses on Hinduism or world religions, this accessible volume spans the entire field of Hindu studies. It provides a forum for the best scholars in the world to make their views and research available to a wider audience."

"Snakes and Arrows was designed by the seers and saints of India as a tool for understanding the relationship of the individual self to the Absolute Self. For thousands of years the 72 spaces on this game board have enabled players to chart the paths that represent the course of their lives."

"A comprehensive survey of the Hindu tradition, the book deals with the history of Hinduism, the sacred writings of the Hindus, the Hindu worldview, and the specifics of the major branches of Hinduism--Vaisnavism, Saivism, and Saktism. It also focuses on the geographical ties of Hinduism with the land of India, the social order created by Hinduism, and the various systems of Hindu thought."

"A scholar of eminence in the field of Indian philosophy, Bimal K. Matilal was one of the leading exponents of Indian logic and epistemology. Painstakingly compiled from Matilal's huge body of work, this collection of essays includes a set of previously unpublished essays and reveals the extraordinary depth of Matilal's philosophical interests."

"The Hindu World emphasizes Hinduism's classical heritage and daily practice as well as contemporary approaches to Hindu scholarship. Exploring the enormous diversity of Hindu devotion whilst considering Hinduism's academic status as a category for analysis, the book achieves a distinctive creative balance between the beliefs and values of Hindus themselves, and scholarly 'outsider' perspectives."

"This book is an indispensable resource for students and researchers wishing to develop a deeper understanding of one of the world's oldest and most multifaceted religious traditions... Studying Hinduism is the result of cooperative work by accomplished specialists in several fields that include anthropology, art, comparative literature, history, philosophy, religious studies, and sociology."

"The lesser known and explored of the two pillars of Hinduism--asrama and varna--asrama is the name given to a system of four distinct and legitimate ways of leading a religious life: as a celibate student, a married householder, a forest hermit, and a world renouncer. In this, the first full-length study of the asrama system, Olivelle uncovers its origin and traces its subsequent history."

"Hindu thought has undergone a major reconfiguration in the nineteenth and the twentieth centuries, in response to its encounter with the forces of modernity. A key element in this reconfiguration is the perception of Hinduism itself as a universal religion; or, as a catalyst promoting the emergence of a universal religion, or, at the very least, as promoting religious universalism."

"This pioneering work examines the existing understanding of Hinduism in relation to human rights discourse... It shows that the presence of the universal in the particular in Hindu stories is a key to understanding Hindu thinking about human rights--and it indicates ways in which Hindu ethical discourse can interact creatively with modern human rights discourse."

"Hinduism is not just a religious belief, it is also a philosophy based upon certain key concepts... This volume offers readers an excellent grounding in the rich and diverse traditions of Hindu thought and is an essential reading for anyone interested in Hinduism, Indian philosophy, and religion."

"For years, this edition of the Bhagavad Gita has allowed all those with a lively interest in this spiritual classic to come into direct contact with the richness and resonance of the original text. Winthrop Sargeant's interlinear edition provides a word-for-word English translation along with the devanagari characters and the transliterated Sanskrit."

"The Dharmasutras are the four surviving works of the ancient Indian expert tradition on the subject of dharma, or the rules of behaviour a community recognizes as binding on its members... In short, these unique documents give us a glimpse of how people, especially Brahmin males, were ideally expected to live their lives within an ordered and hierarchically arranged society."

"In this volume, Patrick Olivelle has assembled the critical text of Manu, including a critical apparatus containing all the significant manuscript variants, along with a reliable and readable translation, copious explanatory notes, and a comprehensive introduction on the structure, content, and socio-political context of the treatise."

"Formalized by the tenth century, the Bhagavata Purana has witnessed centuries of performance, interpretation, worship, and debate. This annotated translation and detailed analysis makes a central Hindu masterpiece accessible to English-speaking audiences and more meaningful to scholars of Hindu literature, philosophy, and religion."