Have a Question? Ask Me
News Stories
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull text collection of international and local news sources.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Business resources including full text periodicals, news photographs, company reports, and financial data. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains several full-text databases: current news, laws and legislation, business and company information, country and state profiles, tax information, biographies, and more.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowAccess to NYTimes.com, including breaking news, multimedia, international content, reviews, blogs, apps, and more.
To activate a renewable one-year pass, see these instructions. - Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for U.S. and international newspapers, as well as TV and radio transcripts.
- The Citizen"Local, independent news coverage of issues, politics, and community life in Harrisonburg, Virginia."
Current Events and Controversies
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowFull text reports on current and controversial issues in U.S. politics, health care, education, economics.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowSecondary and primary sources concerning current social issues, such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, the environment, and terrorism, containing everything from biographies to court cases and magazine articles.
Surveys & Polls
- Pew Research CenterA nonpartisan American "fact tank" that provides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends.
- American Time Use Survey (BLS.GOV)Recent data on how Americans spend their time, tracking activities such as paid work, childcare, and socializing.
Statistics and Datasets
- Statista This link opens in a new windowA data aggregation and research platform covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics. Data is compiled from private and public sources aggregated from North American, Europe, and Asia.
- Data.gov This link opens in a new windowDatasets on nearly every aspect of society, from climate to finance to agriculture.
- Statistical Abstracts of the US (2013-present) This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States with information for 2013 onward.
- Census Data This link opens in a new windowCensus and survey data covering the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas.