Theatre

Provides a blend of information, analysis and anecdotes about influential innovators in professions associated with the theatre are represented - actors and directors, playwrights and designers.

Published in 1990, this two volume set provides basic biographical facts, citations of obituaries and death notices in selected Anglo-American newspapers, and references to book-length biographies and autobiographies in English of theatrical artists who died between 1850 and 1990. Through thousands of entries and cross references, Stage Deaths details the lives and careers of actors, directors, musical directors, designers, producers, playwrights, composers, screenwriters, scenarists, theatre and company managers, and agents connected with stage, screen, radio, television, vaudeville, circus, menagerie, and carnival. A companion to Stage Lives: A Bibliography and Index to Theatrical Biographies in English.

A comprehensive listing of about 4,000 theater artists by name and 2,500 biographies in English. It is intended as a supplement to other, similar research tools that lack references to book-length biographies and autobiographies. In addition to itemizing collective and individual biographies and autobiographies, Bryan's book contains an index, complete with directions for its proper use, that provides stage, actual, and married names; birth and death dates, nationalities, and areas of specialization.

Fifty Key Theatre Designers looks at the history of theatrical scenography by examining the work and contributions of fifty ground-breaking set, costume, lighting, and projection designers since the Renaissance. Each chapter features one designer, including basic biographical information and a discussion of that artist's style, aesthetics, and contributions. Each chapter also includes references to other significant designers with similar aesthetics or who made similarly important contributions to the development of that aspect of scenography.

Available in print or as an eBook. Provides biographies of more than one hundred influential actors, playwrights, composers, directors, designers, dancers, producers, managers, critics, choreographers, and technicians whose careers flourished in the years before the 1969 Stonewall Riots marked the beginning of the gay and lesbian civil rights movement in the U.S.

Covers French theater history through a chronology, introduction, bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced entries on authors, trends, genres, concepts, and literary and historical developments that played a central role in the evolution of French theater.

Covers German theater history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on directors, designers, producers, and movements, theater production, independent and non-subsidized groups, the role of increasingly massive government subsidies, and cities whose reputations as centers of innovation and excellence that have made the German-language theater one of the most vibrant in the world.

Provides detailed biographies of people and theatre groups in the U.S. through 1976. Preceded by
The Biographical Encyclopaedia & Who's Who of the American Theatre, 1966.

Provides systematic access to biographical sources of the identities and careers of what must be well over 40,000 persons (there are almost 50,000 entries, including cross-references) active in the British and American theatre from early times through 1979.

Includes alphabetically arranged entries for more than 70 contemporary Jewish-American dramatists and poets. Each includes a brief biography, a discussion of major works and themes, and overview of the critical reception of the author's writings, and a bibliography of primary and secondary sources. Includes bibliographies.

Provides over 300 entries on women in American theater, ranging from actors, directors, choreographers, playwrights, and designers, to critics, agents, and managers. Each entry contains a selected bibliography. Includes indexes by birthplace and profession.

This book provides biographical and analytical data on significant historical practitioners and theorists of the theatrical design field who have contributed to the development of the art. Beginning with a historical survey on the evolution of theatrical design, the volume features entries on some 270 set, costume, lighting, and theatre building designers, mainly dating from the fifteenth century to 1992. Coverage is international, with emphasis on the United States and Western Europe.

Provides biographical sketches of over 300 individuals distinguished for their stage directing. Emphasis is on artists who have international reputations, especially those whose work has had an impact on theatre in the USA. Each entry profiles the director's life and assesses the significance of his or her accomplishments, provides a list of productions not mentioned in the narrative, and includes a bibliography. The work also includes appendixes, providing a selected bibliography, and indexes of names and plays.