Books
Madison College: The First Fifty Years, 1908-1958 by Call Number: LD3141.M56652 D5
Rooted on Blue Stone Hill by
Richly illustrated with historic and contemporary images, this concise, popular history traces James Madison University's growth from a normal school dedicated to polishing young women for lives as public school teachers and domestic helpmates to its current status as an outstanding university of regional and national stature. The book's narrative chronicles the achievements of each of the school's first four presidents while providing an intimate portrait of student life during each era, including the reminiscences and recollections of numerous alumni throughout the twentieth century. An epilogue summarizes the agenda that JMU's current and fifth president, Linwood H. Rose, has set for the institution as it approaches its centennial anniversary in 2008. This engaging history will appeal to students and parents, alumni, and readers interested in the history of higher education in Virginia and the nation.
Call Number: LD3141.M65677 J78 2004ISBN: 1930066171Publication Date: 2004-12-02
Dressing for Education the First Fifty Years: Highlights of the JMU Historic Clothing Collection 1908-1959 by Call Number: GT615 .J646 2005Publication Date: 2005
Online Reference
- Blackwell Reference Online Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text reference books in the humanities and social sciences.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searchable online reference book collection covering all subjects from the arts to zoology. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text scholarly reference books on all subjects. - SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowFull-text encyclopedias back to 2002 on subjects ranging from African American Studies to Sociology.
- OED Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Text of the Oxford English Dictionary and the Historical Thesaurus of the OED.
Selected Reference Books
A Companion to 20th-Century America
"An authoritative survey of the most important topics and themes of twentieth-century American history and historiography."
A Companion to Post-1945 America
"Covers society and culture, people and movements, politics and foreign policy."
A Companion to American Cultural History
"Offers a historiographic overview of the scholarship, with special attention to the major studies and debates that have shaped the field, and an assessment of where it is currently headed."
A Companion to the American South
"Surveys and evaluates the most important and innovative writing on the entire sweep of the history of the southern United States."
A Companion to American Women's History
"Highlights the most recent important scholarship on the key debates and future directions of this popular and contemporary field."
Encyclopedia of African American Education
"The Encyclopedia of African American Education covers educational institutions at every level, from preschool through graduate and professional training, with special attention to historically black and predominantly black colleges and universities."
Other Helpful Guides
- Special Collections resourcesAccess the many materials available through Special Collections, including Handbooks, Yearbooks, and The Breeze
Need Help?
- Ask the LibraryAsk the library via email, phone, or chat.