Skip to main content

Disability Studies: Home

Disability Studies engages in an examination of the many ways disability is defined and constructed.

Related Research Guides

Other Guides

Quick Links for Disability Studies

Selected Books on Disability Studies

Cover image of Negotiating Disability

Negotiating Disability: Disclosure and Higher Education

Disability is not always central to claims about diversity and inclusion in higher education, but should be. This collection reveals the pervasiveness of disability issues and considerations within many higher education populations and settings, from classrooms to physical environments to policy impacts on students, faculty, administrators, and staff.

Cover image of The Disability Studies Reader

The Disability Studies Reader

The Disability Studies Reader is the most comprehensive introduction to in disability studies. Now in its third edition, it contains a wide range of seminal, cutting-edge and classic articles in the field. The collection covers cultural studies, identity politics, literary criticism, sociology, philosophy, anthropology, the visual arts, gender and race studies, as well as memoir, poetry, fiction, and prose non-fiction.

Cover image of Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies

Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies

The Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies takes a multidisciplinary approach to disability and provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of the main issues in the field around the world today. Adopting an international perspective and consisting entirely of newly commissioned chapters arranged thematically, it surveys the state of the discipline, examining emerging and cutting edge areas as well as core areas of contention.

Cover Image of Keywords for Disability Studies

Keywords for Disability Studies

Keywords for Disability Studies aims to broaden and define the conceptual framework of disability studies for readers and practitioners in the field and beyond. The volume engages some of the most pressing debates of our time, such as prenatal testing, euthanasia, accessibility in public transportation and the workplace, post-traumatic stress, and questions about the beginning and end of life.

Cover image of Disability Rhetoric

Disability Rhetoric

Disability Rhetoric is the first book to view rhetorical theory and history through the lens of disability studies. Traditionally, the body has been seen as, at best, a rhetorical distraction; at worst, those whose bodies do not conform to a narrow range of norms are disqualified from speaking. Yet, Dolmage argues that communication has always been obsessed with the meaning of the body and that bodily difference is always highly rhetorical.

Cover image of Crip Theory

Crip Theory: Cultural Signs of Queerness and Disability

Crip Theory attends to the contemporary cultures of disability and queerness that are coming out all over. Both disability studies and queer theory are centrally concerned with how bodies, pleasures, and identities are represented as "normal" or as abject, but Crip Theory is the first book to analyze thoroughly the ways in which these interdisciplinary fields inform each other.

Cover image of Feminist Disability Studies

Feminist Disability Studies

Disability, like questions of race, gender, and class, is one of the most provocative topics among theorists and philosophers today. This volume, situated at the intersection of feminist theory and disability studies, addresses questions about the nature of embodiment, the meaning of disability, the impact of public policy on those who have been labeled disabled, and how we define the norms of mental and physical ability.

Selected Journals on Disability Studies

Humanities Librarian

Malia Willey's picture
Malia Willey
Contact:
willeyme@jmu.edu
Carrier Library 127
540.568.6899