It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A collection of full-text reference books in the humanities and social sciences. Includes A Companion to 20th-Century America, A Companion to American Cultural History, A Companion to American Immigration, A Companion to American Women's History, A Companion to the American South, and A Companion to American Technology.
Reference resource covering fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
The most extensive bibliography of the depression era ever published, this volume lists retrospective books, articles, and doctoral dissertations that deal with American government, law, politics, economics, regional and local affairs, society, thought and culture, and foreign relations during this tumultuous period of modern American history. Organized topically, the bibliography covers forty-four separate subject categories ranging from participant accounts to trade and economic relations. Each section is further subdivided into lists of books, articles, and dissertations. Within sections, entries are arranged alphabetically by author. An author index provides additional access to the items, designating the topical categories in which works by an author appear and the type of works included.
Although dated, an excellent starting place for world history. Arranged in 48 topical sections, contains extensive bibliographies, mostly covering English-language publications published between 1961 and 1992. Each bibliographic section is preceded by a short historiographical essay that provides an overview of trends in scholarship.
Social, cultural, political, and economic history. Includes contributions of racial minorities, Native Americans, women and non-traditional religions. Additionally, the way average Americans worked, lived, played and worshiped is pictured against the backdrop of political change and the growth of the world's foremost industrial power.
Rediscovering America explores the lost history of America, highlighting and reintegrating the complex contributions of women, African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, immigrants, artists, renegades, rebels, rogues, and others normally cast to the margins of history books, but without whom there is no honest accounting of American history. In an accessible timeline format, it paints an inclusive picture of our recent past, without sentiment or favor, respecting the true richness and complexity of 100 years in the life of a nation.
Extending from the 1870s to World War I, the Gilded Age and the Progressive Era mark a a major turning point in American history. This illustrated encyclopedia provides definitive coverage of all the social and cultural developments of the period as well as its political and economic history. Edited by distinguished historian John Buenker and librarian Joseph Buenker, the set features original documents, sidebars, and in-depth essays on major themes and developments, as well as hundreds of detailed entries on issues, events, people, and ideas.
This dictionary provides details of the key individuals and developments in American political, social, cultural, and economic history between the years of 1913 through 1933. This guide offers an excellent vantage point for surveying what can justifiably be called an interesting period in history.
"This is yet another fine historical dictionary from Greenwood... This carefully edited work should prove an asset for all reference collections and as a useful handbook for students of twentieth-century American history." -Reference Books Bulletin
This is the first encyclopedia devoted exclusively to the Great Depression and the New Deal. Covering the years 1929 to 1941, it traces all the major political, economic, social, and cultural movements, as well as the principal events and people, during the longest and most severe economic crisis in American history.
"Encyclopedia of the Interwar Years is an interdisciplinary reference containing more than 400 entries on the ideas, people, places, and events - military, political, cultural - of the period between the two world wars, focusing primarily on the United States and western Europe. In addition, it contains verbatim tracts of the era's most important speeches, writings, and treaties."
More than 150 articles provide a revealing look at one of the most tempestuous decades in recent American history, describing the everyday activities of Americans as they dealt first with war, and then a difficult transition to peace and prosperity.
This authoritative, three volume masterwork details early U.S. involvement in Vietnam and brings Vietnamese history to the present with discussions of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam from 1975 through 1997.