It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Founded by Alan Lomax, this organization aims to stimulate cultural equity through preservation, research, and dissemination of the world's traditional music. Also includes videos of dance and song performance, and photography.
A collection of digitized primary source documents from the American South sponsored by the University Library of UNC-CH. It offers documents from a variety of university libraries covering the Colonial era into the 20th century.
"The Freedom Archives contains over 12,000 hours of audio and video recordings which date from the late-1960s to the mid-90s and chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements... Our collection includes weekly news, poetry, music programs; in-depth interviews and reports on social and cultural issues; numerous voices from behind prison walls; diverse activists; and pamphlets, journals and other materials from many radical organizations and movements."
Digital archive containing firsthand accounts from sources around the world, covering such events as post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States, and more.
A comprehensive collection for exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century. The collection features indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit website offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. The Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages.
"Project STAND is a radical grassroots archival consortia project between colleges and universities around the country; to create a centralized digital space highlighting analog and digital collections emphasizing student activism in marginalized communities." There are African American, Asian American, Latinx, LGBTQ, and women's rights collections.
A consolidated database of more than 12,000 finding aids which provide information about the vast array of manuscripts and archival materials housed in historical societies, libraries, museums, colleges and universities across the Commonwealth
Vast and varied collections of print materials, manuscripts, archival records, newspapers, photographs and ephemera, maps and atlases, rare books, and fine art that tell the history of the commonwealth and its people
Google has digitized thousands of books and magazines and made them searchable. Use this advanced search interface for precise searching. You may be able to access the full text of books that are out of copyright. If an item is only available in "snippet view" or "limited preview," you may be able to obtain that item from our own collection or via Interlibrary Loan.
"During World War II, the US Army administered more than 200 surveys to over half a million American troops to discover what they thought and how they felt about the conflict and their military service... Browse and search over 65,000 pages of uncensored, open-ended responses handwritten by servicemembers, view and download survey data and original analyses, read topical essays by leading historians, and access additional learning resources."
Official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Back volumes are in process of digitization, with some searchable content available back to the 1950s and up to the mid-1970s, and links to browsable volumes since 1861. JMU has some volumes in print and/or on microform.
Fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database containing U.S. statutory materials, scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and the full text of state and federal cases.
Collection of legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, and includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
A collection of primary source material on all aspects of American history originating from Congress and other federal agencies, covering commerce, exploration, science/technology, military, environment, health, social issues, and others.
Digital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, and more, encompassing many time periods and world cultures. Note: First time, off-campus users accessing via OpenAthens will be required to create a personal account
This multifaceted tool places art works from the Metropolitan Museum's collection within geographical and chronological context. It has excellent thematic essays (background information) that cover the historical eras and cultures that produced the works of art (the primary sources), along with maps and key events from each place and time period.
"The Social Welfare History Image Portal brings together photographs, pamphlets, artifacts and documents chronicling the history of the nation's response to human need. This history includes the work of volunteer organizations, reform movements, social workers, and government legislation and systems."
"American Panorama is an historical atlas of the United States for the twenty-first century. It combines cutting-edge research with innovative interactive mapping techniques, designed to appeal to anyone with an interest in American history or a love of maps."
"Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."