Business Librarian
Student Consultation Hours
Fall 2024 Semester
- 9-11 a.m. on Mondays
- Noon-2 p.m. Thursdays
- Various times on Fridays
Your choice: Meet in person in Hartman 1060 or online via Zoom
Note: These are my usual office hours. Some weeks, I might adjust these hours to visit classes or attend trainings.
If none of these times fit your schedule, send me an email with at least two dates/times you are available and I will try to accommodate.
Best bets: Business databases
These databases are best for finding peer-reviewed articles in business disciplines.
You must authenticate as a JMU user with Duo to access them, whether on-campus or off-campus.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Peer-reviewed journal articles (plus industry & market research reports, magazines, news sources, SWOTS)
Dates covered: 1922-present - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Abstracts for journal articles in psychology. Get JMU Access button connects you to full-text, if available.
Dates covered: 1872-present - Scopus This link opens in a new windowContent types: Abstracts/citations for peer-reviewed journals. Get JMU Access button connects you to full-text, if available.
Dates covered: 1966-present - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Peer-reviewed journals in a variety of disciplines.
Dates covered: 1800s to 3-5 years ago
What about using Google Scholar?
Yes, of course! Academic researchers do all the time. But be aware of its benefits ...
- Allows you to search scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, not just a single database.
- Suggests related articles, who else has cited this work
- Frequently the fastest way to track down an article by citation
... and limitations
- Not all articles returned are available full-text through JMU Libraries
- Not all articles are peer-reviewed ( and there's no way to filter)
- Less precise results than you’ll get using a specialized database