Liaison Librarian
Finding Journal Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to more than 1,800 journals in 40 languages on world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the US and Canada. - Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews on Islam, the Middle East, Muslim areas of Africa and Asia, and other geographic regions with a Muslim minority.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, books, and other published resources pertaining to the humanities from around the world.
Find Primary Sources
- Al-Bab: Arabic News Media OnlineProvides links to news media and other primary source resources on Arab countries (primarily those within the Arab League). Sponsored by the British-Yemen Society.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryThis multifaceted tool places art works from the Metropolitan Museum's collection within geographical and chronological context. It has excellent thematic essays (background information) that cover the historical eras and cultures that produced the works of art (the primary sources), along with maps and key events from each place and time period.
- Resources for the History of Islamic BooksMaintained by Dagmar Riedel at Columbia University, this is an in-progress bibliography of works.
Arabic Resources
- Arabic Wikipedia
Most popular crowd-sourced online encyclopedia.
- Encyclopedia Iranica
Scholarly online encyclopedia of Iranian civilization. Collaborative project at Columbia University.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam, Three
The best English-language scholarly reference work on Islamic studies. Although most entry headings are foreign words transliterated according to an unusual system, the separate indexes allow for easy access to pertinent articles.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture
Book
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
Book
Transliteration systems are used to convert words from one writing system to another. Words written in non-Roman writing systems (e.g., Arabic, Russian, Hindi), may be transliterated into Roman letters in various ways. This can create problems when searching in a library catalog or database. Try variations to get better results. For example:
- JMU Library Catalog: Qaddafi, Muammar
- Historical Abstracts: Qadhafi, Muammar
- CNN: Gadhafi, Moammar
- Al Jazeera: Gaddafi, Muammar
- ABC News: Kaddafi, Moammar