Liaison Librarian
Brian Flota -- Office Hours
Office Hours (Fall 2023):
Monday and Wednesday from 1:30 PM to 3:30 PM in my office (Burruss Hall 016), virtually (via Zoom), or by appointment. Times may vary. For an up-to-date schedule of my office hours, click on the "Schedule Appointment" box on the left side of this guide.
Welcome Message
This guide is designed to introduce you to the major resources the JMU Libraries have for studying foreign languages, literatures, and cultures. The tabs above will direct you to language-specific resources for Arabic, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.
Finding Books and Articles
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- Research Databases & ResourcesThis is a list of ALL JMU's databases. Use the alphabetical list or the search box to find databases relevant to your research needs.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Catalog of over 62 million titles cataloged by libraries worldwide that includes manuscripts written as early as the 1000 B.C., books, audio visual media, and internet source
- Interlibrary LoanGet books from other libraries.
Literary Databases
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, literature, etc.
- LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index with abstracts to journal articles, books, papers, monographs, dissertations on all aspects of language.
Rosetta Stone and Pronunciator (through Massanutten Regional Library)
- Rosetta StoneJMU does not have access to Rosetta Stone. However, Harrisonburg's public library, Massanutten Regional Library, does. For more information, click on the link above.
- PronunciatorPronunciator is a fun and free way to learn any of 98 languages with Personalized Courses, movies, music, and more.
Like Rosetta Stone, JMU does not have access to Pronunciator. It can be accessed through Massanutten Regional Library's online resources.