Need Help?
Related Research Guides
Quick Links for Art
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines.
-
Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new windowProvides e-books related to the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design, including scholarly books, museum catalogs, and catalouges raisonnés.
-
Art & Design Databases This link opens in a new windowA cluster of databases containing journal articles, news items, and reviews in the areas of art & design, includes Artbibliographies Modern; the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; and Design and Applied Arts Index.
-
Art Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts for articles and reproductions from art periodicals published throughout the world.
-
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowProvides access to The Grove Dictionary of Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms in a single search.
-
JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
-
WorldCat This link opens in a new windowCatalog of over 62 million titles cataloged by libraries worldwide that includes manuscripts written as early as the 1000 B.C., books, audio visual media, and internet source
Art Safety
-
Art Safety - Princeton UniversityThe visual arts can pose significant risks to the health and safety of artists. This guide provides an overview of some of the most common risks associated with painting, drawing, photography, ceramics, lithography, and sculpture.
-
Safety In The Fine Arts - U. Mass AmherstWorking in the fine arts can pose significant health and safety risks from a variety of hazards. Hazards are present in studios and in shops, as well as in performance areas. These hazards may include chemical, physical, electrical, radiation, and biological hazards.
-
The Artist's Complete Health and Safety Guide, 2001
Considered a standard in the field of art safety, the manual was written by Monona Rossol -- a chemist, artist, and industrial hygienist, who is also the founder and president of ACTS (Arts, Crafts and Theater Safety). Four exhaustive sections cover regulations and specific hazards, artists' raw materials, precautions for individual media, and reproductive risks to artists. Fully equipped with appendixes on sources, governmental agencies, and an annotated reference list.
