Have a Question? Ask Me!
Industry trends: JMU subscriptions
Start with Factiva, which provides full-text access to top national and international newspapers, newswires, business journals, industry publications, company filings, press releases, analyst reports, and websites.
Some of the sources that can be searched in Factiva include:
- ABA Banking Journal
- American Banker
- Independent Banker
- SNL Financial Extra
- New York Times
- Wall Street Journal
- Washington Post
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Business resources including full text periodicals, news photographs, company reports, and financial data.
Also try Business Source Complete, a database that searches a mix of scholarly articles, trade articles, news articles and company/industry reports.
Search for community banks as an SU Subject to find all types of articles on this topic. Consider adding limits for source type (academic journals) and publication date.
Note: Bloomberg.com articles can also be searched in this database.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text for periodicals and news sources covering all aspects of business, including business, country economic reports, company profiles, market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses.
- Doing Business Research: Using Business Source Complete
Tips for using the Business Source Complete database to find information about a company, industry or topic.
Staying informed with the news
- The Economist This link opens in a new windowFull access to The Economist. First-time users must create an individual account using these instructions.
- Financial Times This link opens in a new windowDigital content from the Financial Times provides FT articles published in the daily paper, in-depth 'Special Reports', and company and financial information.
Note: First time users will need to create an account using these instructions. - New York Times This link opens in a new windowFull access to The New York Times and International New York Times content. Access also includes unlimited access to the Archives and learning tools such as the Learning Network and the New York Times inEducation website.
Note: First time users will need to create a one year renewable account using these instructions - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowAn online version of the Wall Street Journal
Note: First time users will need to create a personal account using these instructions. - Washington Post This link opens in a new windowFull access to The Washington Post online coverage, including unlimited access to interactives and videos. Access is available in the Library Catalog but you can also sign up for an individual account for more streamlined and personalized access. Note: To create an individual account use these instructions.
Industry trends: Trade associations
These groups might publish research about the state of the industry, or trends affecting firms in that industry. They also lobby state and federal government for legislation favorable to their member firms.
Some research might only be available to dues-paying members. Look for links to Resources, Publications, Research or Advocacy for free reports or briefings.
Using Google and Google Scholar
There are a few things you can do to make accessing articles online easier:
- Use Google Scholar to connect to Libraries resourcesHitting paywalls in Google Scholar? You can connect Google Scholar to Libraries resources by following a few simple steps. This will help you gain access to articles we license.
- LibKey Nomad Browser ExtensionLibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects you with articles that are library-licensed or open access. LibKey Nomad is available for Google Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Brave, and Vivaldi. Install the LibKey Nomad extension for your browser of choice. (Note: A user account is not required to use the extension.) Search for and select "James Madison University" from the list of institutions. When you are on publisher websites, Wikipedia, PubMed, and more, you can look for the LibKey Nomad button to download PDFs.