Have a Question? Ask Me!
Online Reference Sources
Check out other online encyclopedias available through JMU Libraries here.
- AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online This link opens in a new windowReference resource containing encyclopedia articles, illustrations, definitions, biographies, bibliographies, and learning resources covering all major science disciplines.
- Encyclopedia of BioethicsTopics include the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment.
- Encyclopedia of Human DevelopmentCovers topics such as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament, and more.
- Encyclopedia of Life SciencesThe Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) features more than 5,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles. Browse by topic or search for articles within this resource.
- Grzimek's Animal EncyclopediaEncyclopedia of animals.
- Prokaryotes This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles on the biology of bacteria, including systematics, ecology, and physiology.
Print Reference Resources
Rose Library contains a large print reference collection of biology books. To find physical reference books in the Libraries' collection, search using the Library's catalog.
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
JMU Libraries uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize books in the collection. Biology books can be found in several subclasses.
Q = Science, General
QH = Natural History, Biology
QK = Botany
QL = Zoology
QM = Human Anatomy
QP = Physiology
QR = Microbiology
When browsing for books in one of these disciplines, head to the shelves that begin with the letters outlined above.