Have a Question? Ask Me!
How do I find articles for my research?
If your instructor has asked you to find a peer reviewed, scholarly, or refereed article, the easiest way is through the subject specific library databases.
Below are databases that are subject specific. Use the filters while searching to broaden or narrow your article search.
Want to learn more about what makes an article peer reviewed, scholarly or refereed? Check out the Types of Sources page.
Accessing Articles
Before you start
Be sure you are connected to Official JMU Wireless Network or configuring your computer to Connect from Off-Campus!
While searching for an article
Look for this button to check if we have access to the article through another database or journal.
If we don't have access to an article
You can request an electronic copy of it from another library using Interlibrary Loan. This can usually take 1-2 days.
Top Biology Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of scholarly literature from scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowFreely accessible database including biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- ProQuest Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Offers indexing, citations and full text articles from journals in the biological sciences, including animal behavior, ecology, endocrinology, genetics, microbiology, neuroscience, plant science, toxicology, and more.
Other Helpful Biology Databases
- Agricola This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowIndex with full text of Annual Reviews in biological and medical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
- BioOne This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journal collection focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. - Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for many journals on agriculture, ecosystem, ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, and more. - Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts for journal articles on marine biology, physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, and more. - ProQuest Natural Sciences This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases providing journal indexing and article abstracts for biology, environmental studies, oceanography, aquatic sciences, medicine, biotechnology, engineering, and computer science - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts with some full text scholarly journals and book chapters in science, technology, and medicine.
- TAIR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of genetic and molecular biology data for Arabidopsis thaliana, including the complete genome sequence, gene structure,gene expression, DNA, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, and more.
JoVE Modules
This video database teaches laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations and also includes protocols and methodologies.
Science Education Modules:
- JoVE Science Education: Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology This link opens in a new windowScience Education video collection in JoVE which demonstrates basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology.
- JoVE Science Education: Advanced Biology Module This link opens in a new windowIncludes Essentials of Neuroscience, Essentials of Developmental Biology, Essentials of Genetics, and Essentials of Cell Biology.
- JoVE Science Education: Psychology Module This link opens in a new windowIncludes Essentials of Behavioral Science, Essentials of Experimental Psychology, and Essentials of Cognitive Psychology.
Peer-Reviewed Video Journals:
- JoVE Journal: Biology, Medicine, Environment This link opens in a new windowPeer reviewed scientific video articles in the disciplines of Biology, Medicine, and Environment.